Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
toxin.
October 14th 2012


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5



See, I think the second half of this is a lot better than the first. I don't find it particularly consistent. I also really like Someone Anyone though.



Yeah, I agree that the second half is better. I don't really use the standard definition of "consistent" when I talk about albums. It's more that there's nothing that's a noticeable drop of quality like Hello Alone (specifically) was on Cities. Basically the album is consistently good, though some songs are better than others.

dathvada321
October 14th 2012


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album rules hard

Waior
October 14th 2012


11630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

there are so many kind of awkward songs on cities that are almost really good but have way too layered choruses



adelaide, whisper and a clamour, hello alone, alexithymia, reclusion, and if i'm honest, (fin*) is fun but it's an absolute kind of mess



it's not just inconsistent on a song-to-song basis, but it has songs that like 75% awesome and 25% hammy

breakingthefragile
October 14th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had no idea this album was going to be this popular on sputnik.

ATARI
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2012


22794 Comments


yeah man anberlin rules!

Digging: Amy Shark - Night Thinker

Waior
October 14th 2012


11630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's anberlin



and everybody here has been deluded into thinking cities was a magnum opus and this sounds kind of the same



opiate of the masses!

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 14th 2012


25146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

They've always been somewhat popular here

Digging: Belle and Sebastian - How To Solve Our Human Problems Pt. 1

Waior
October 14th 2012


11630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

that being said



type three is pretty great

breakingthefragile
October 14th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually found out about these guys only 2 weeks ago. I'm really surprised I hadn't heard about them sooner, because they do seem to be pretty popular. I really like these guys actually, I didn't expect to like New Surrender as much as I do. This is the kind of alternative rock that I really like listening to, harmonious, hooky, and it still manages to kick ass. Christian rockers really seem to know how to do the genre best lol.

Waior
October 14th 2012


11630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i have no idea where you are



nice to meet you



i like your opinions

ATARI
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2012


22794 Comments


oh my gosh!!! listen to all their albums

FromDaHood
October 14th 2012


9107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The layered choruses are my favorite part of Anberlin

Waior
October 14th 2012


11630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

but he's one vocalist, it's impossible to perform it live because none of the other guys have particularly strong voices

breakingthefragile
October 14th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even though I'm still very new to these guys, I'm thinking about reviewing this when I get around to listening to it. Not much else drops Tuesday.

FromDaHood
October 14th 2012


9107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, that's kind of obnoxious. Especially if you want to do the vocals that bleed into each other like on Paperthin Hymn.

I'm definitely going to review this when I've heard it a few more times. Not that y'all would care, as I'm a lowly user.

Cygnatti
October 14th 2012


32202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ugh breaking, since when do you listen to good music

Digging: Ildjarn - Strength and Anger

breakingthefragile
October 14th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

We actually share some of the same ratings Cygnatti. 5/5 ratings at least.

Cygnatti
October 14th 2012


32202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

pretty much all of my 5/5's aren't even supposed to be 5's



more like 4's or 4.5's

breakingthefragile
October 14th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even so, our ratings would still be close.

Cygnatti
October 14th 2012


32202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

close doesn't mean believe = 4/5 breaking



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy