Devin Townsend Project Epicloud
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dreamflight
September 17th 2012


1786 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

her echoing voice is godlike.

zaruyache
September 18th 2012


22855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Goddesslike. A choir of Annekes!

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

iambandersnatch
September 18th 2012


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think people rating this 2.5-3.5 want this to be some sort of super-cohesive concept record or something.



My viewpoint is this: an album full of good, enjoyable songs that may or may not go together perfectly, shouldn't lose a full 1-2 points of rating just because of the lack of cohesion.



Say Radiohead came onto the scene now and had never released anything before. On their first record they put Everything In Its Right Place, Paranoid Android, Just, Reckoner, etc etc.. great songs from different Radiohead eras as we know them. It would be completely uncohesive but AMAZING nonetheless. Would we sit here and rate it a 3 because the songs don't quite go together? HELLLL no we wouldn't. Not saying this is a 5, because I think the quality of songs is more 4-4.5, but lack of cohesiveness should not knock an album down more than .5 - 1 points.

conesmoke
September 18th 2012


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like this statement from Dev,



"this record is my take on what a big, epic, commercial sounding record that sings about nice stuff would sound like in Dev-land."





Irving
Emeritus
September 18th 2012


7499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think people rating this 2.5-3.5 want this to be some sort of super-cohesive concept record or something.



Nope. I just think the songs aren't all that awesome even as individual pieces.

Wizard
September 18th 2012


20309 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Very good read Irving. Album is like a piece of poop taking a giant poop.



I think people rating this 2.5-3.5 want this to be some sort of super-cohesive concept record or something.



Or you just discovered metal yesterday by rating this higher than a 2?





Titan
September 18th 2012


21085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album reminds me of symbolic

KILL
September 18th 2012


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol ~Desolence~

Tyrael
September 18th 2012


21112 Comments


Wizard's opinions are fairly hilarious most of the time

Muikuli
September 18th 2012


195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm a Devin Townsend fan. On first listen, I think this was alright overall, but probably not what I'm looking for from Devin.



I hear the bonus CD is better.

Tyrael
September 18th 2012


21112 Comments


It's no City or Ocean Machine but then again what is

KILL
September 18th 2012


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wizard the wise rip

Tyrael
September 18th 2012


21112 Comments


Hey KILL if you had to choose which one would you prefer

Ocean Machine: Biomech or City?

KILL
September 18th 2012


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thats like askin me to choose between a farewell to kings and hemispheres bro, cant do it

Tyrael
September 18th 2012


21112 Comments


Well I'd go with a Farewell To Kings because Xanadu is the best thing they've done imo

Titan
September 18th 2012


21085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Farewell may contain the better song(s)



Hemispheres is better as an album

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2012


26029 Comments


Not sure what to make of this yet. Surprised it's rated so high.

Digging: Disavowed - Revocation of the Fallen

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2012


57411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's Devin

Digging: RMR - DRUG DEALING IS A LOST ART

menawati
September 18th 2012


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Not sure what to make of this yet."

Ye me too, listened quite a lot now and still can't make up my mind if I love or hate it.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2012


26029 Comments


@Trebor, never heard Devin's other stuff.

lol song 3 sounds like ludo (the pop punk band)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy