House Of Heroes Cold Hard Want
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair call. That was actually my initial rating too. Grew on me, but still unsure if it's lasting value will be strong.

Skoop
July 18th 2012


2059 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No tagbacks is actually kinda cool, really raw and punkish

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I will have to dig it out then. Especially keen since I liked HoH's debut more than most.

North0House2
July 18th 2012


6026 Comments


I was not a fan of their last album. I loved their debut, though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You may like this then, as it cuts down on that theatrical element a little. If I had to choose an album of theirs this is most similar to, I might even choose Say No More. But there's a bit from each album really.

henryChinaski
July 19th 2012


4110 Comments


Good read. I came across this band a few times but never bothered to listen to one of their albums extensively. This is actually really good.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 20th 2012


4853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm always down for some a capella openers.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 20th 2012


4853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid 4 to 4.5 for me right now. This is really good.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks hC. If you like this, then I'd definitely recommend a trip back through their back-catalog.



I wanted to write more on the a capella tracks, but wasn't sure how I felt about them. I'm still not tbh. I still can't quite put my finger on your musical tastes Chipmunk. It's clear what type of music you like, but it seems like it "should" be simpler to guess what you will think of certain albums.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 20th 2012


4853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like anything that's catchy. It's almost as simple as that, Davey. But catchy comes in many forms and that I Call Fives did not grab me at all.



Also, I just made this list of stuff that might you might like.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oooh, that's a dangerous comment. Some crappy pop can be very catchy.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 21st 2012


4853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production is key in making something catchy. For example, Kelly Clarkson's Stronger is catchy but I consider it a "cheap chorus" and, if anything, is ruined by it's terrible terrible production.



I'm also biased against people who don't write their own music so that should perhaps remedy my previous statement.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually don't mind 'Stronger', but the problem with KC is too many of her tunes have sounded very similar (both in sound & thematically) over the years.



Then again, I like pop-punk, so what am I saying!!!

HypedMerchant
July 24th 2012


456 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm starting to think The End Is Not The End will be the only album by this band that I'll ever exceedingly enjoy. I've only heard two songs off this album, though, so lets hope the two songs I heard are part of the weaker side of this album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, if they were the 2 singles, I'd say "oh oh".

Skoop
July 25th 2012


2059 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

what does oh oh mean?

Alex445
July 25th 2012


149 Comments


Religious lyrics drive me up the wall.

Alex445
July 25th 2012


149 Comments


kind of like religion.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"what does oh oh mean?" As in, if he didn't like the 2 songs he heard & they were th 2 singles released thus far, then he won't like the album.



HypedMerchant
July 25th 2012


456 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah, they weren't the singles, at least I don't think they were. I just picked two random songs to listen to haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy