House Of Heroes Cold Hard Want
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Skoop
July 15th 2012


2059 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i agree, one of the unfourtunatly few consistent bands of their genre

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed... & I think it has something to do with the fact I mentioned in the intro paragraph... They really haven't made the same album twice.



Oh, & btw, that "hype" you were speaking of before, try & stay away from it (with any album). I know it's easier said than done, but it's worth it if you can do so.

Skoop
July 15th 2012


2059 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i know i need to avoid hype cause i can hardly listen to that one anymore. everytime i do im with the mindset that its a brilliant album of the decade masterpeice. When really its just a fun catchy album with a couple really good ideas

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hear you... I've seriously avoided some over-hyped albums for months. Will power FTW.

Eko
July 15th 2012


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is surprisingly close to End Is Not The End imo



End > this > Suburba > Say No More imo

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Unsure if Xeno means in quality or in sound & concept.



Quality is up to the individiual. This is less conceptual, probably a little more varied, but the lyrics aren't quite as good. I guess one could make a case for this being more of a normal rock album, which may bore some a little. It's anything but boring imo though.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 15th 2012


4853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Davey, you should review this band soon: http://therubbishzoo.bandcamp.com/



I definitely think you'll like it.

Skoop
July 16th 2012


2059 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My only gripe here is the lack of an epic song that really grabs you. Songs like valley of dying sun or relentless, or god save the foolish kings

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think 'I Am a Symbol' is the attempt at that.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 16th 2012


28392 Comments


Hey Davey would I like this

Be honest

Digging: John Nolan - Abendigo

ThyCrossAwaits
July 16th 2012


3431 Comments


Totally saw House of Herpes.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sowing, since you gave 'TEINTE' a 3 (which surprises me), I can't see you giving this album any higher. Lead single is linked on previous page as a taster though.



LOL at House of Herpes. I hope you don't frequent that establishment.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 16th 2012


28392 Comments


I thought TEINTE was decent, but it all seemed so forced and calculated

I'll give this a shot though

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 16th 2012


4853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"LOL at House of Herpes"



On the keyboard, o and p are right next to each other.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If that's the main reason why you rated it down Sowing, then there is a decent chance you could think this is slightly better.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 16th 2012


28392 Comments


pretty good actually

rating might even climb a half a point

Apollo
July 16th 2012


10677 Comments


Good review, the single you posted is pretty decent

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"pretty good actually... rating might even climb a half a point"



Well, there you go... So care to enlighten us on why you prefer this Sowing?





"Good review, the single you posted is pretty decent"



Thanks Apollo. I think it's the best song here, but fans of the band have often preferred non-singles as their best songs, so what do I know!?

randomnames
July 17th 2012


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It takes a bit of warming up, but a fine addition to their discography. One quirk I have is the slight overuse of the 'oh-oh-oh's... but I'll get over it. Great review!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed on both counts, although I thought the "oh oh ohs" were spread out well enough. Admittedly, they do sound a bit calculated.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy