Diablo Swing Orchestra Pandora's Pinata
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MarvinLapsus
March 15th 2014


136 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I know this will be taken as "boutade" by most, but so far this is the frigging best album of this decade for me. My levels of addiction for a musical produce of any sort hadn't be so dangerously high from my very teen years.

CalculatingInfinity
March 15th 2014


9269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ya this rules, Justice for Saint Mary is definately something else. Definately the peak of their craft.

Froot
September 1st 2014


1910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wish this album was more jazz-based than the opener let on. Still epic as all hell though.

Asdfp277
October 20th 2014


23008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

new DSO single!!!



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1I7fs4QDaV4



(not that good but still!!)



QUICK, SOMEBODY WHO ACTUALLY SPEAKS ENGLISH, POST A NEWS ARTICLE!!11

elcrawfodor
October 20th 2014


1264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

(not that good but still!!)




Dude this is excellent, disco metal is fun as dope

Asdfp277
October 20th 2014


23008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think it lacked boom!, but disco metal sounds perfect omg and if there's a band that's gonna' try and pull it off, it should be DSO me thinks

ChoccyPhilly
October 20th 2014


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No where near as powerful as many of the songs on this. Also, I just can't get used to those vocals

Digging: Georgie Sweet - Misunderstood

Asdfp277
October 20th 2014


23008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah the vocals were also lacking in boom! and i didn't like the timbre itself but i still have hope one needs to be hopeful this is gonna rock! lml

ChoccyPhilly
October 20th 2014


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As long as there's a Voodoo Mon Armour on the album, I'll be happy

elcrawfodor
October 21st 2014


1264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed the vocals weren't as good but I'm holding out for some more operatic pieces on the full album. And Choccy every album's gotta have one swing number, it's in their name!

Friday13th
December 1st 2014


7141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha this is fun stuff

CalculatingInfinity
December 1st 2014


9269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is still the shit

ChoccyPhilly
December 2nd 2014


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wouldn't mind their new album being more like this at all, rather than that 80s disco track they put out

Angelboros
February 26th 2015


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band's name is pretty ingenious, honestly. I find myself quite infatuated with DSO's sound. Guerrilla Laments is neat.

CalculatingInfinity
August 21st 2015


9269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.metal-archives.com/reviews/Diablo_Swing_Orchestra/Pandora's_Pi%C3%B1ata/334427/Apteronotus/198252



lol

Asdfp277
August 21st 2015


23008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This entire album is so fucking ace wtf

Asdfp277
August 21st 2015


23008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.metal-archives.com/reviews/Diablo_Swing_Orchestra/Pandora's_Pi%C3%B1ata/334427/Apteronotus/198252





lol




Entire review is bullshit btw

CalculatingInfinity
August 21st 2015


9269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep I was pretty much laughing all the way through, especally at these nuggets of wisdom:



"Diablo Swing Orchestra’s style of swing relies heavily on a dance-oriented feel. This means, like with all dance music, that the primary point of the composition is to have listener focused on something other than the music. Since metal is not dance music, Pandora’s Piñata is existentially worthless. It cannot be danced to. It cannot be listened to. A monstrosity created by mixing different musical animals."



"But, given the band’s inherent lack of direction, you also have rows like the ostentatious “Aurora” and first five or so minutes of “Justice For Saint Mary” that pretend to be serious with its pseudo-classical approach by removing all pretenses of being metal (another sign that the band doesn’t take metal, or music, seriously.)"



"Pandora’s Piñata is the third full-length from this ill conceived gimmick, but it’s clear that the band was out of ideas immediately after the phrase “swing metal” was uttered."

Asdfp277
August 21st 2015


23008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The entire review is bullshit [2]



I have yet to see a negative review on metallum that's even decent / acceptable. They're so fucking childish

CalculatingInfinity
August 21st 2015


9269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep there's a reason I say away from it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy