Monolake Ghosts
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
y87arrow
December 24th 2019


613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maybe some day I will check out Polygon Cities, but the album cover of it doesn't speak to me, other than Ghosts, which I find beautiful. Especially with atmospheric electronic music I often try those albums out which have a promising album picture (and after that I check out the songs on bandcamp, youtube etc.).

Usually that's a method that works great for me. btw Gravity is a bit underrated on here, I love the frosty atmosphere.

Digging: Pere Ubu - The Art Of Walking

y87arrow
December 25th 2019


613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well I now listened to the first 9 songs and I say wow! Really nice sounds and atmospheres.

Take "Toku" for example, all the metallic objects that make those fascinating sounds, this is the kind of electronic song that I will always immediately like, same with "Unstable Matter" or "Aligning The Daemon" right now.



It's a straight 4.0, might even be more after some time passes and when I have listened to it multiple times. Am now reading all kinds of reviews and infos about the album everywhere. I love the album artwork on discogs, the vinyl one has 8 pictures. And I like the interview with Robert Henke (Monolake).

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2019


31445 Comments


Tried to listen to this and it pranged me out for some reason, gonna leave this as a foot-in-the-door comment as a reminder to come back

Digging: Fushitsusha - Live I

Trifolium
December 25th 2019


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is this your first Monolake Johnny? In that case this might be a weird place to start. Perhaps Cinemascope or Momentum are easier entry points.



y87arrow
December 29th 2019


613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Favourite songs so far:



1. Unstable Matter / Toku

3. Foreign Object

4. Hitting The Surface / Lilith / Aligning The Daemon

7. Phenomenon

8. Ghosts / The Existence Of Time

10. Afterglow / Discontinuity



I especially love the songs with many different things / objects going on, it's kind of mesmerizing.

Some of the more rhythmic songs with more steady beat are a little bit harder for me to get into, yes it's strange I know! lol

But I'm thankful I chose this album as my 3rd album of Monolake, I can never discover enough atmospheric and experimental electronic albums!!

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2019


31445 Comments


@Trif it is, and this is your fault for rec'ing it to me ;] will give one of those a jam sometime!

Asdfp277
December 29th 2019


23084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

y'all that like this check emika? :0

Trifolium
May 15th 2020


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Omg daily Monolake bump incoming:

Bump.

This one is for Reminiscence, one of my fave techno tracks of all time. Shameful that Momentum doesn't have a review yet. I will have to change this.

y87arrow
May 15th 2020


613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah Reminiscence is excellent, same with almost all other songs on Momentum.

I wish Ghosts and Gravity had a higher average rating, I love the atmosphere on them, those are the 3 albums I have and they're all very different atmosphere-wise.

Trifolium
May 15th 2020


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So true. I love every single one of his albums, all of them have their own unique flavour. The guy's a genius.

Trifolium
September 21st 2020


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bump for VLSI's Glypnir. Greeaat tune.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2020


31445 Comments


M o n o l a k e
Need to do another one soon

Trifolium
September 21st 2020


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would always applaud this sentiment Johnny, you know this. I love all of them.

Currently shuffling through his (/''their'' in the early days) whole discog. Shows just how diverse yet high quality his (/their) output is.

Can't wait for a new one, Winamp tells me it's been 4 year already.

Trifolium
January 14th 2021


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bump for Ping (Cinemascope). That one needs a review so badly.

Pikazilla
January 14th 2021


14156 Comments


will i like this

Trifolium
January 14th 2021


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You'd better! I'd be angry with you otherwise.



I'd never feel that way of course. I think it's worth a shot Pika, but this would probably be a weird starting point. Cinemascope was my way in, I feel it summarizes what Monolake is all about in a nice way still.

Pikazilla
January 14th 2021


14156 Comments


Alrighty, I will start with that one!

Trifolium
January 14th 2021


20924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Coooool! I hope you love it, one of my fave artists 😍



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy