Lou Reed and Metallica Lulu
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MisterTornado
January 8th 2012


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"There's some really amazing writing here. Granted, as a review it doesn't do much musical analysis so much as it is a passive, backwards glance at what Lulu was, but the clarity of the hindsight makes for a pretty compelling piece. I'm not entirely sure how you feel about Lulu MisterTornado, but I am quite glad to see that someone actually devoted some thought into reviewing this album - beyond "OMG REPETITIVE CHORDS AND LOU REED'S OLD MAN VOCALS AND DAMMIT IT'S METALLICA; MUST HATE OMG NEG NEG NEG"."



I appreciate the honesty Irving, you hit the nail on the head. I went into this review looking to argue against a critical consensus I didn't agree with, and based on the fact that 9 reviews already exist here on Sputnik on the same material, I decided the musical analysis should take a backseat. It would have worked better as some kind of article, but I felt like it was necessary nonetheless.

TriForce00
January 8th 2012


13 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This is just terrible & a disgrace. Metallica has disappointed me with their last few albums. To be honest, they haven't had a good album since "The Black Album". Makes me a bit upset since I grew up to these guys.

KjSwantko
January 8th 2012


12030 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yeah this album licks balls. I can't find a single thing about it that I like.

Irving
Emeritus
January 8th 2012


7499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

On another note. there's a typo towards the end of the review: forgettablely





wacknizzle
January 8th 2012


14529 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

junior daddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!

Pentagon
January 8th 2012


1998 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

All of the narrative flaws in The Room make it quite enjoyable. Same can't be said about this pile of shit though.

oltnabrick
August 23rd 2013


39977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is really misunderstood

Digging: Salem (US) - Fires in Heaven

The777thVermicide
August 23rd 2013


277 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

That 3,5 rating gave to my little cousin superaids and a stroke. Album is an abortion and not even fan

of tables will enjoy this

oltnabrick
August 23rd 2013


39977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how dare you

SharkTooth
October 5th 2014


14167 Comments


I AM THE TABLET!!!

Flugmorph
February 24th 2015


23300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great review

420Itchy69
February 24th 2015


216 Comments


^nice rating

Flugmorph
February 24th 2015


23300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i'm serious with this. i really enjoy this album. love reeds voice and the riffs are badass

420Itchy69
February 24th 2015


216 Comments


its a 3 for me, im also serious about this

oltnabrick
September 1st 2015


39977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

would you top me off

would you top me off as I deepen a curtsy

while you yell out, “MERCY

w e g r o w a p a r t

would you r i p and

cut

m e
?





use a knife on me

danielcardoso
September 1st 2015


11770 Comments


Best line to start an album, though. "I would cut my legs and tits off", c'mon Lou. That song isn't so bad though, and Iced Honey is alright as well, I guess. Rest of the album is overlong and derivative, Lou and Metallica aren't a nice fit.


I'm gonna get some sleep guys but remember,
I am the table.

oltnabrick
September 1st 2015


39977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn bro, that was... .. epic! *lifts eyebrows up and down quickly*

danielcardoso
September 1st 2015


11770 Comments


Nah I kid, while I was never Lou's biggest fan he has a handful of great albums and has had a huge, underappreciated influence on modern music. Lulu was a failed experiment in my eye, but it's cool to see someome who appreciates it.

altertide0
September 1st 2015


3026 Comments


"That song isn't so bad though, and Iced Honey is alright as well, I guess. Rest of the album is overlong and derivative"

"Iced Honey" and the opener are *by far* the most derivative and cliched songs on the album. Lou has done MANY songs in this vein.

Btw, the context makes it obvious the table means tablet/list, "these 10 stories" = 10 commandments. You may be kidding but they should really put this information in the booklet anyway for the stupid Metallica kids to understand.

danielcardoso
September 1st 2015


11770 Comments


As far as Brandenburg Gate and Iced Honey go, guess we'll just agree to disagree. But yeah, all in all I'm kidding, will not lie that line sounds cringy though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy