Thrice Major/Minor
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoubtGin
December 24th 2011


6880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

disagree

fireaboveicebelow
December 24th 2011


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Good, disagree without saying anything



Oh I think someone said a while back that my first paragraph is faulted because of the concepts of the Alchemy

Indexes. In response, the approach of writing music corresponding with elemental auras should never be taken so lazily

so as to write heavy music for fire that doesn't even sound warm, furious, chaotic, or unpredictable, nor write music wet

with reverb and delay as if that would imply water's specific tranquillity in tandem with its own chaos, nor write folk

music for earth that's basically a cop-out, and air isn't even worth commenting on because of how characterless it was.

To sum up, I don't count it as a successful concept, and therefore my opinion on their lack of direction from those

albums on stands.

Crymsonblaze
December 24th 2011


8232 Comments


HOLD IT!

Do you even know what post-hardcore is?

"...his gruff vocals doing nothing for the vocal power"

What's 'the vocal power'? Seems like a stupid phrase to me.

"Blur is another example of trying to move towards something different, but the motions between verse, pre chorus, chorus, etc. sound horrible"

No sane man would consider that a decent description of a song. I even listened to the song and I still have no idea what you're talking about.

"Words In The Water is pretty much the last example as the best song on here, sounding most like their latter era with its peaks but not pushing any further so as to surmise progress"

Could you possibly write any more clumsily? Simply say that it takes things from earlier albums without making it sound fresh, or something to that effect. No need to be senselessly complex.

"Treading Paper, Listen To Me, and Anthology go through the motions of the band’s recent history just with the distinction of elementary builds, unnatural transitions, and actually speaking of transitions Major/Minor has literally no flow to speak of, implying no thought as to what they want to do with the record, especially if closing on Disarmed was the best they could do."

Major/Minor has no flow, kind of like this sentence, har har har.

jefflebowski
December 24th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

picking holes because you don't like the rating

Oceanus
December 24th 2011


881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry dude, but this review isn't written very well. I don't care about your score or about what points you're trying to make because your grammar is lazy and your sentences don't really make much sense. :/

Crymsonblaze
December 24th 2011


8232 Comments


"picking holes because you don't like the rating"

Don't care about the rating. Don't especially like the band.

jefflebowski
December 24th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

all im saying is that most people wouldn't be so...diligent in their criticisms if this was a positive review

TheSpirit
December 24th 2011


27501 Comments


yes they would? why would you say that, people pick apart bad reviews no matter what the rating is.

Digging: Dark Watcher - Hymns Of A Godless Land

Crymsonblaze
December 24th 2011


8232 Comments


Yeah I suppose. Something about him gets on my nerves.

anarchistfish
December 24th 2011


28640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

11 pages already.. woah

Digging: Godspeed You! Black Emperor - G_d's Pee AT STATE'S END!

jefflebowski
December 24th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'people pick apart bad reviews no matter what the rating is.'



in an ideal Sputniktopia, that would be the case



toxin.
December 24th 2011


12939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review rules

KILL
December 24th 2011


81240 Comments


gone damn neggers

toxin.
December 24th 2011


12939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

btw cut some of your sentences into two separate ones, dammit

pcar
December 25th 2011


530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah review reads worse every time



learn to fucking write nigga

fireaboveicebelow
December 25th 2011


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

For someone that takes critiques really well, as others can vouch for, I gotta say virtually all of the negative comments

are pretty much wrong. I'm sorry you can't read something that isn't the generic sputnik format. This would be the part

where I mention praise my writing gets from college professors and people who aren't even friends but hey you can be

close-minded all you want, it's the sputnik way after all...now I'm done.



It's hilarious how you can piss people off just by having a different thought, it's that easy

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2011


57765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah

Digging: Sex-Dragoon - Mayo

Crymsonblaze
December 25th 2011


8232 Comments


"I gotta say virtually all of the negative comments are pretty much wrong."

Yeah you go ahead and say that. Doesn't make your writing any less crappy.

"This would be the part where I mention praise my writing gets from college professors and people who aren't even friends"

Ah yes, I seem to remember reading about fireaboveicebelow's standout dissertation in Princeton's newsletter.

Gyromania
December 25th 2011


32270 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Crymsonblaze, your criticisms are so mind-numbingly stupid. Gtfo.

Crymsonblaze
December 25th 2011


8232 Comments


Nah, that's okay Dragonair.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy