maudlin of the Well Part the Second
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
InAbsentia
December 7th 2011


3544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Also, when mental retardation is completely relevant to what you're saying, then yes, I'd say it's mature."



Right. Mental retardation is completely relevant to what I'm saying.....

Cheesewireism
December 7th 2011


161 Comments


Woah, just woah, i feel i have to climb back over this wall of words to escape the page

Ending
December 7th 2011


2176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Read about (what I thought was) half and then scrolled down to see how much was left and practically

dropped my jaw. Either way, this was just painful to read.



The biggest complaint seemed to be that motW decided to change, which really isn't even so since this

is composed (correct me if I'm wrong) of tracks Driver had written earlier but never released.



I won't neg this, but honestly it's not a very good review.

mcg182
December 7th 2011


144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's the closest comparison point to anything you're saying, InAbsentia.

mcg182
December 7th 2011


144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm amazed how many people negged this just because of the rating without even coming close to understanding what I was saying. It's just astounding how many people hop on the bandwagon and won't leave it like its was their breast feeding mother. Look, no one said you had to agree with anything I had to say, no said you had to share my complaints. In case you didn't notice, music is completely subjective.

mcg182
December 7th 2011


144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"This experimental band doesn't sound the same as they did on previous albums" is basically what I got from this. Imagine that, an experimental band that tries different things. Huh.



Right, except every song on this album is predictable, and the songs were written by the same guy who makes the same music with his new band. Again, read the review before you bitch about it, dumbass.

fsharptrit0ne
December 7th 2011


4817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude I think people are negging because the review is poorly written

InAbsentia
December 7th 2011


3544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"It's the closest comparison point to anything you're saying, InAbsentia."



I don't know, man... The only person who wrote a review that 1 out of 9 people thought was well written is you. I believe you're much closer to mental retardation than me.

Washer
December 7th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's really sad that you weren't able to enjoy this album since all of your opinions are based on wrong information. I sincerely hope you don't intend to have any sort of future in journalism or politics. From now on, you might want to consider doing a few minutes of research about a record before you go and write a review as if you have some kind of authoritative perspective. The rebuttals to your review, below, are all based on information that is easily gathered on the internet, even directly from the band's website.



First of all, you're saying that Toby Driver is attempting to recreate a MOTW vibe, and failing. Actually, almost all of the music on this album is from the exact same time period as the original 3 MOTW albums, just recorded 8 years later. So you're just dead wrong about this music being some sort of modern desperate grasp for something of the past. MOTW never made the claim that they were trying to reinvent themselves with this album. Rather, they clearly stated that these were old songs that they dredged up from old demo tapes and memories, recorded with a professional studio production.



Secondly, the musicians on this album are ALL from "Bath" & "Leaving Your Body Map" and NOT Kayo Dot except for Mia Matsumiya, David Bodie, and Madeleine Craw. All the guitar parts were played by the same, original MOTW guitarists, the drummer is the same, and you obviously are overlooking that Terran Olson was an original MOTW member as well (playing piano, organ, clarinet, sax, flute, etc). On the original MOTW albums, the band also used guest string players, so this is no different. "Part the Second" actually features MORE maudlin members than Kayo Dot's "Choirs of the Eye" does.









Washer
December 7th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your complaint about the lyrics: These lyrics were written by Jason Byron, just as on the original MOTW albums. So, you're wrong to complain about Toby Driver in this context as well. Your complaint about the vocabulary is ignorant and adolescent. How exactly do the words "Saturnine" and "missive" NOT make sense in those lyrics? My interpretation of those lines: "Drowsy missive underneath the painted May". Well dude, look at the image that accompanies that song. The "painted May" is the sun on the ceiling. The "drowsy missive" is the message that guy is sending (a prayer? a dream? a meditation?) as he dozes below the sun painted on the ceiling. How is that tough to figure out? "When you call me with vibrations in harmony with some Saturnine frequency" A saturnine frequency must be like a melancholy, gloomy pitch, or song, even. This song seems to be about the creation of art & the collaborative process between the musicians.



Your complaint about the genres used: funk? Have you ever heard the song "Bizarre Flowers" on "Leaving Your Body Map", which you claim to be so in love with? Because there sure is a funky bit in that song.



Finally, you mention that you only just fell in love with the old MOTW stuff a few days ago. That much is very, very obvious. You clearly have not yet realized that MOTW's artistic output has always had much more depth than a simple download and iPod shuffle of the album can reveal. Remember the complex puzzle that was hidden in the artwork and liner notes for Bath and Leaving Your Body Map? Probably not.

mcg182
December 7th 2011


144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I at least said why, and gave good reasons why I think the album sucks. You, on the other hand, are just trying to find every excuse you can to undermine my opinions, to the point of you completely ignoring what I had to say in the review.



And fsharptrit0ne, it's a possibility, but I'd like you to take in account a review of Sgt Pepper that gave it the album a 2, and got a shit-ton of negs, when a lot of people were saying it was well written.



Washer, everyone keeps saying how its "motW reinvented", so it isn't about the band's intentions as much as what the fans keep saying. I know Kayo Dot didn't make this album. I'm not an idiot. I'm saying the band shows no personality to show that it isn't Kayo Dot. Besides, all of the members were members of Kayo Dot at one point, so I don't see your argument, especially since I fucking know not all of the members of maudlin weren't on Choirs of the Eye. Forgive me for thinking that this "new sound" wasn't like motW, but seriously, they used the most same-sounding and Kayo Dot-sounding songs that it's hard to tell the difference. Also, I know that most of motW original members are on the album. I'm saying that they play second fiddle to the members of Kayo Dot, former or recent, and Kayo Dot's sound.



I understood the depth of motW's music perfectly. Otherwise, I wouldn't have been so angry. It's just that motW were seen as angry and unexpected, not so saccharine and soft that the songs almost mimic each other, and end up showing no emotion or depth in the long run.



Your interpretation of the lyrics takes higher leaps than Evel Knievel, since nowhere has anyone used the phrase "Saturnine frequency" to mean that, and that interpretation of "drowsy missive" is so broad that you aren't even sure what it means. No one asks questions about lyrical interpretation when their argument is supposed to show that the lyrics make perfect sense. And yes, I have heard Bizarre Flowers, and there is no funk on it at all! I guess you don't really know the difference between funk and metal because they share some similarities, but that "funky bit" is really a relatively common rhythym in both funk and metal. In CGI, it's outright Funkadelic.



You obviously need to find a better way of constructive criticism than what you gave, because your rebuttal is very repetitive, even compared to my review, and completely biased on the fact that you gave the album a 5/5. So, sorry, I'm still standing by what I said.

Washer
December 7th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

But your reasons are based on wrong info.

Washer
December 7th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's like saying you hate Obama because Obama is a Muslim and wasn't born in the U.S.

fsharptrit0ne
December 7th 2011


4817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very track on this album is also weighed down by over-production. It would have been nice to hear some singing. Instead we hear robots, drenched in reverb, reciting words like they were programmed into their motherboards.



Oh yea, beautifully written

mcg182
December 7th 2011


144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Beautifully written, indeed. If it were another band, then I would've liked it a whole lot more. Over-production is also a slight ruining factor, when compared to Bath/LYBM.



Washer, fine, I'll admit some of my hatred stems from wrong info, but since I have an addiction to trolling, I won't change my review just yet. Also, no, it's not like saying that at all. It's more like Obama building up a large amount of support with beliefs for reform and equality, and then once he won, abandoned all the ideals that got him so well-liked.

But, I'll give you this: at least you fucking read the review before giving intelligent and carefully thought-out criticism, rather than bitch unreasonably like some of the users.

NeutralThunder12
December 7th 2011


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

if it were another band id like it a whole lot more opinion is always the dumbest thing a person can say about music.



Lemme sum it up



you clearly did not do your research on this band, who played on this album or when these songs were actually written



the review is bloated and features more personal butthurttness than actual well thought out and backed up criticisms



your defense of this review and your opinion is making you sound more retarded, because your opinions and your criticisms are not based on correct information



you seem to not like this album because it's not like bath or body map (though it actually really is in some points), not based on the quality of the record as an individual piece of music, your constant comparison is ridiculous



this album isn't overproduced



you are a failure and I will speak on behalf for sputnik when i say don't write another review



album is great



you are not



end of story

InAbsentia
December 7th 2011


3544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

NT for president

NeutralThunder12
December 7th 2011


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

absentia im listening to this again and its better than when i first heard it omggg

InAbsentia
December 7th 2011


3544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. This album is amazing. It just sounds so....pure. It's hard to describe the greatness of this album.

NeutralThunder12
December 7th 2011


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

insanely atmospheric. the compositions are insanely dense and diverse too. i mean i guess i kinda mix where toby would just legit say fuck it and juxtapose death/doom right up against the atmospheric/jazzy new age stuff but this might be even better put together than bath. and bath is a 5 for me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy