Genesis Invisible Touch
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2017


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Also, Fripp has worked with a lot of pop artists



dude worked with Bowie and Daryl Hall



so the argument against "not sacrificing their progressive roots" doesn't work especially when considering Fripp started out with the Giles brothers in a shoddy pop combo with slight hints as to where King Crimson would come into being.

rodrigo90
April 25th 2017


3318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You're a walking bible so I think you win the discussion.



No, what I meant is that the decision of him changing their approach of genres I think it was a bad decision and I mean musically not commercially. I think they could have still being a prog band in the 80's and they'd have survived pretty well... Rush did it...although they took the synthrock path but they still made prog after all.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2017


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The gradual change in Genesis' sound had its roots with Gabriel's departure but became a lot more evident with Hackett qutting the band in '77. Their past tendencies stuck around even after they were moreso a pop group, but the new sound had a lot more to do with Rutherford/Banks being tired of playing these long, intricate works live night after night especially now that they were pretty much touring stadiums now (should add the acoustics wouldn't help the more progressive songs in stadiums when comparing the pre-82 shows where they were still doing shows in auditoriums and the like). Banks, most notably, was tired of pulling out the twelve string for The Musical Box, which was why they only did the final part after Gabriel left (not counting the 1982 Milton Keynes reunion show, where they did it in full for the final time) and why they cut The Knife in half during the 80s shows until the cut it after 1982.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2017


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

As for Rush, it's a bit difficult since I'd say they were a lot more accessible thanks to their music not exactly being restricted by the constant references and cultural stuff Genesis often put into their music.



Plus, Rush had always been, in a way, more of a hard rock band (although with increasingly progressive tendencies).

Titan
April 25th 2017


17982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fly By Night through Hemispheres is as progressive as it gets......started to tail off with Permanent Waves although the next couple of albums still had some very progressive stuff (6 albums worth).....i'll give you the hard rock band with progressive tendencies from Signals onward.....maybe even Moving Pictures if the camera eye didn't exist



ok, maybe not fly by night so much but bytor so yeah

rodrigo90
April 25th 2017


3318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah fly by night is pretty much the archetype of hard rock more than prog-rock

Dewinged
June 1st 2017


6440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Are we bumping Genesis threads now? Man, I really like Hans review of this. T/t still gives me chills for some reason.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

suddykilljaywalkers
June 18th 2017


879 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

mike rutherford said domino was his favorite genesis song. thoughts on that?

rodrigo90
June 18th 2017


3318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Meh...None of the prog-rock songs there are worthy, except The Brazilian. Tonight, tonight, tonight is very catchy though.

suddykilljaywalkers
November 14th 2017


879 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the star trek part was kinda funny



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy