Nas Illmatic
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ryus
October 9th 2020


22255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2pac is bad ngl

Digging: Hyroglifics and Sinistarr - BS6

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2020


20573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is incredible, got me into the genre and somehow still the best



It’s funny all told how few people I know talk about / heap praise on 2pac. He holds a weird position in the canon

Storm In A Teacup
October 9th 2020


30870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

2pacs legacy fades more every 5 years

TheAntichrist
October 9th 2020


2009 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

every time he leaves he be all like "ill be pac"

Ryus
October 9th 2020


22255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"It’s funny all told how few people I know talk about / heap praise on 2pac. He holds a weird position in the canon"



same tbh. feels like a lot lot more people know his name than his music at this point, at least in my circles

Colton
October 9th 2020


7351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pac was pretty unique compared to other 90s rappers, he popularized that melodic style of rapping that's still popular today. I think his influence is still strong even if he's not as talked about as other rappers from his time

Digging: Pinegrove - Amperland, NY

NeroCorleone
October 9th 2020


229 Comments


2pac songs are better chopped and screwed.

DaHound
October 10th 2020


216 Comments


Wish the two could’ve made a song together. They definitely would have since they made up right before Pac died and were big fans of each other

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2020


20573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the piano chord throughout "ny state of mind" belongs on a list with "the second chord from 'sometimes' by my bloody valentine" of the best chords ever

evilford
November 30th 2020


48217 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Idk the mbv one but yes

Digging: Hexecutor - Beyond Any Human Conception Of Knowledge?

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2020


20573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i dont really know what e&j is or represents for nas but I once had a bottle of apple brandy from e&j and it was easily the funniest alcoholic drink i've ever had not sure I can explain it but it's sooooo funny to drink

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2020


20573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

just the combination of "NY State of Mind" and "Life's a Bitch" is a whole damn musical universe

evilford
November 30th 2020


48217 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I also have never been big on pac

Colton
November 30th 2020


7351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bad 2Pac takes

Drifter
November 30th 2020


17037 Comments


2Pac is the goat

HalfManHalfAmazing
November 30th 2020


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

2Pac's definitely up there. I wonder what is it about Pac that doesn't resonate with some people?

Get Low
November 30th 2020


9026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There are many artists who do everything he does better. Not necessarily at the same time, but I mean like, he isn't the best at any one thing. Where he excels the most is lyrically, and people don't value lyrics as much these days, I feel. That's just my take.

evilford
November 30th 2020


48217 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was never blown away by his lyricism. I strongly dislike his vocal delivery tho. Maybe I just dislike his delivery enough to distract me from his perceived lyrical greatness tho idk. Ill def jam him again and I'm all about changing my views on shit when I'm wrong

claygurnz
December 2nd 2020


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Life's a bitch and then you die



That's why we get high,



Cus you never know when you're gonna go.

Fort23
December 2nd 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2pac was a a great rapper but what made him so relevant in his time was also his charisma and a real celebrity presence that the majority of rappers and musicians in general dont, which is why its harder for newer and newer generations to get why hes so revered, even though hes still a top tier rapper. Biggie was an incredible rap talent but aside from that, from what ive heard and seen, a pretty quiet and awkward guy. 2pac was a literal movie star, and actually a really good one. But the dominant sound of the 90s that has been legacized is a)grimy east coast stomping dudes out in timbs and b)g funk gangbang bandana, and 2pacs actual music was mostly somewhere between those two sounds.

Digging: MC Money & Gangsta Gold - Da Hard Ov Frayser



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy