Shpongle Tales of the Inexpressible
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
naturalistic2
November 5th 2021


187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dorset Perception is one of the greatest things I've ever heard.

Get Low
December 8th 2021


11783 Comments


this gives me anxiety

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2021


19984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah much as I love Shpongle and this album in particular, some of it it just too much and gets ridiculous sounding.

Digging: Beach House - Once Twice Melody: Chapter Three

Ryus
December 8th 2021


26800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yea that just about sums up my feelings. not my favorite type of electronic at all

Digging: Bladee - Royal Mix

CalculatingInfinity
December 8th 2021


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't see how any of this album is 'ridiculous' except maybe the Terence McKenna samples.

MotokoKusanagi
December 8th 2021


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

one of my hardest 5s, didn't realize i had never rated on this account lol. listened to this on so many trips back in the day

simon posford is a god tbh

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2021


19984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is their least ridiculous sounding, but c’mon their music is pretty goofy at times.

CalculatingInfinity
December 8th 2021


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Almost none of Ineffable is and Nothing Lost only three songs I'd consider 'goofy'. The debut can be at times, and some moments on Museum too.

MotokoKusanagi
December 8th 2021


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yea mang, Ineffable and Nothing are just really odd and experimental for most of their runtime. agreed that Museum of Consciousness is where some of the goofiness sticks out a bit more although it still feels pretty natural for them. they dialed it back a bit for Codex and i think it was a bit less fun for it

but i might just be a huge fuckin fanboy though lmao i've seen Simon's shpongle dj set live like 5 times and own a bunch of physical merch

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2021


19984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maybe y’all listen to lots of wacky stuff or something, but plenty of Shpongle sounds goofy to me, especially all the vocal stuff and some of the genre-bending. The two songs on here that are the wackiest are My Head Feels Like a Frisbee and Around the World... Then lots of moments throughout the debut and Nothing Lasts, then even more on following releases. Everyone I’ve listened to them with has remarked along those lines, not me. And even when it’s not goofy sometimes it’s too crazy and mind-numbing too. But I’m saying this as a fan, as I like their music a lot.

MotokoKusanagi
December 8th 2021


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

trying to analyze shpongle is tough lol. i mean i'm not gonna say they don't have "goofy" parts or elements to their sound beyond Museum that can at times feel like a hodge-podge of ideas and genres mixed. but i've honestly never felt mind numbed, annoyed, or overwhelmed by that vibe really it's what separates them from other psytrance acts





TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2021


19984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I basically feel the same way for the most part, most Shpongle is great, especially the first three albums. And as far as psytrance goes they’re pretty much at the top of the heap.

MotokoKusanagi
December 8th 2021


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

to be fair i haven't actively sought out psytrance in many years so maybe it's changed but i've always thought it was a bit sad there weren't more artists like them pushing the sound forward

have you checked any of Simon's solo or side projects? i assume you're familiar but his work under the Hallucinogen name is essential listening imo

CalculatingInfinity
December 8th 2021


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If it wasn't so well constructed and produced, I would find it goofy. This album genuinely feels like a living, breathing world come to life for me. I can just imagine going through the murky jungle canopy as a quirky robot guides you along in Shpongleyes, and seeing the sunset as Flute Fruit closes the album.



It gives a sense of immersion and enjoyment that I find very hard to find in...any medium really. Guess that sounds kinda cheesy, but that's how I feel anyway. Nothing Lost a few tones they use and the female vocalist half way through the album are kinda too wacky even for me.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2021


19984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I’m hardly an expert on psytrance too, but I haven’t heard much that grabbed me besides Shpongle. Unless early Porcupine Tree counts.

Yeah some songs here and there, and all of The Last Days of Gravity, all great.

CalculatingInfinity
December 8th 2021


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ott's Mir is also fantastic and is close to being as good as this, I recommend that.

MotokoKusanagi
December 8th 2021


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i love Ott but i've never considered him to be psytrance personally. still in similar vein to this though and a fantastic rec none the less

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2021


19984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool Calc, I’ll check it out. And agreed that this album is very immersive and vibrant, I love it.

MotokoKusanagi
December 8th 2021


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is a shpongle copycat album, they even sample terrence mckenna lol. worth a jam maybe if you're ever really in the mood. definitely not as well thought out and weird though

https://www.sputnikmusic.com/soundoff.php?albumid=31718

dope "vanilla" psytance album that never really got attention here

https://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/43751/Trinodia-Human-History/

CalculatingInfinity
December 8th 2021


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Motoko: Yeah he ain't psytrance but he falls into the psybient sphere so that's why I recc'ed. For Psytrance I recommend Mystery of the Yeti.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy