Boris Heavy Rocks (2011)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They already had Attention Please on vinyl at the record store today. But I didn't like that album enough to buy it (bought Nadja's Thaumogenesis instead). I did pre-order this, though. Hope it gets here soon.

psykonaut
May 21st 2011


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm a bit irked by New Album having some of the same songs from this and Attention Please. i like some of the new mixes more (like Les Paul Custom 86), but i like some of the old mixes more too (like Spoon). silly boris

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They all worked in the context of their respective albums, so I wasn't too put off by it. I'd say each probably has one non-exclusive track that's better on that particular album. This is just overall the most well-executed of the three releases, in my opinion. But that's probably because it traverses the most familiar territory for the band.

Rev
May 21st 2011


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this leaked





AND YOU BOUGHT THAUMOGENESIS I WILL KILL YOU FOR IT

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The only shitty part was I had to decide between that and Bungled & Botched. :/

Rev
May 21st 2011


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Where the hell do you shop where you can find both of those?! I'm beyond jelly :C

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Criminal Records in Atlanta. I pretty much always walk out with something I love (last time was God Is Good by Om). I contemplated getting quite a few things this time including James Blake, Helplessness Blues, Simple Math, and the two Nadja albums.

Rev
May 21st 2011


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am beyond jealous. Urban Outfitters and Hot Topic have better vinyl selections than my local record stores

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Understandable. I was pretty surprised by the selection on Hot Topic's website. That was where I ended up buying The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place.

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thought you might also like that I bought Feedbacker and the colored vinyl versions of Absolutego and Amplifier Worship at my record store lol.

psykonaut
May 21st 2011


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They all worked in the context of their respective albums, so I wasn't too put off by it.


yeah, that's a good point.

my new apartment is just a block away from an awesome local record store, my wallet is fucked once i move there

Rev
May 21st 2011


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



Thought you might also like that I bought Feedbacker and the colored vinyl versions of Absolutego and Amplifier Worship at my record store lol.




*super mega rage*

FadedSun
May 21st 2011


1900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another solid album from Boris. It didn't reinvent heavy music like they said, but it certainly didn't set it back. Great review too! The Pitchfork review for this album was embarrassing.

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They do know a thing or two about embarrassing reviews.

psykonaut
May 21st 2011


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aileron slays so hard

Ire
May 21st 2011


41945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

guys





my soundoff

Ire
May 21st 2011


41945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

holy shit that summary rules





AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Century of Boris

Ire
May 21st 2011


41945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

JACKSON HEAAAD



song rules hard

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
May 21st 2011


16223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They shoulda done more of the thrash riffing that ends the album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy