Beck Guero
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ArsMoriendi
June 10th 2015


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good album, but it's not very original for him. It's like a more polished, less diverse version of Odelay.

Digging: Dead Can Dance - Garden of the Arcane Delights

StallionMang
June 13th 2015


8999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this to me has nothing in common with odelay

ArsMoriendi
June 13th 2015


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's got R&B thrown into the mix, but it still has similar alternative rock, hip hop, country and folk influence

StallionMang
June 13th 2015


8999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah the genres are similar but the music itself isnt assembled nearly as discordantly and it almost sounds organized. like the genres all blend together really nicely

plus its a lot less hip-hop and sample-reliant

ArsMoriendi
September 10th 2015


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah nah nah nah nah nah I'm gonna go it aloooooone

theBoneyKing
September 10th 2015


17691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome album, though haven't spun it in a while. Beck's less popular here than I would expect.

Digging: Cocteau Twins - Treasure

DinosaurJones
September 10th 2015


10150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have very oddly specific memories of listening to this album on shuffle with Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge by My Chemical Romance and Flyleaf's S/T album in my 3 CD stereo while playing Legend of Legaia on the PS1.

WHY.

Also, this is the only album out of those three that I really listen to anymore, though I had a huge crush on Flyleaf's first singer.

ArsMoriendi
September 10th 2015


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's the kind of album that keeps on revealing new gems in my opinion. Took like 6 listens to truly appreciate "Missing" but once I did it became a favorite : )

DinosaurJones
September 10th 2015


10150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Earthquake Weather has always been one of my favorite tracks. I really like "Missing" too.

theBoneyKing
September 10th 2015


17691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk this is great but doesn't touch anything from his Odelay to Sea Change run, which was exceptional.

ArsMoriendi
September 10th 2015


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I do prefer Odelay and haven't checked Sea Change, so maybe you're right, but this was one of my summer defining albums so I love it, I don't know...

theBoneyKing
September 10th 2015


17691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sea Change is hard to compare to the rest of his catalogue since it is so much more chill, but it's pretty much tied with Odelay as my favorite. Midnite Vultures and Mutations are both amazing as well. He has such a diverse catalogue though, gotta appreciate that.

ArsMoriendi
September 10th 2015


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I love Mutations, I only know 5 Beck albums so far, but I like them all, even if Stereopathetic Soulmanure is REALLY weak at points.

theBoneyKing
September 10th 2015


17691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've never checked Stereopathic Soulmanure but maybe I'll fix that soon.

SharkTooth
September 12th 2015


14137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn I forgot how good this is

ArsMoriendi
September 17th 2015


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I push I pull the days... go slow





jtswope
June 24th 2016


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The groove on Scarecrow is too good.

ArsMoriendi
September 26th 2016


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell Yes is so groovy

conditionals
June 19th 2017


555 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is kind of front-loaded. I feel like you could cut off 2 or 3 country slowjams and nobody would notice.

'Earthquake Weather' and 'Missing', and 'Go It Alone' are standouts for me though, along with the obvious classics at the front.

ArsMoriendi
June 19th 2017


27679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Go It Alone was a big summer song for me 2 summers ago.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy