Atmosphere The Family Sign
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Counterfeit
October 15th 2011


17837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

no dude



like



youre not listening

FromDaHood
November 25th 2011


9112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just don't get it, help me out Feit

BlatantLobotomy
December 2nd 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think you understand what "Bad Bad Daddy" is about. Slug doesn't write literally very often, and this is one of those times he isn't being literal. Bad Bad Daddy is about the collective he's built under the Rhyme Sayers roof. It's about how he's become a "father" of sorts to all the rappers who have had success- "birth" -because of him, and all of the other artists he has brought into the world, not just the ones under Rhyme Sayers. And how they've just sort of started to run around on their own away from his influence, all the while using him as a sort of father to their careers without paying him any real mind.



It's admittedly, not the best track on the album, but when you read between the lines, it starts to grow on you, simply based on the meaning behind it.



If anyone needs any explanation on other tracks, I can enlighten you to the best of my abilities. And I can provide sources from interviews.



All in all, the entire album is not a purist album, in terms of hip-hop, but then again, what is hip-hop, aside from a beat and a poetic semi spoken-word verse?

When it comes to the Atmosphere brand, this album is a standalone from their other works. And on it's own two feet, it's an amazing album all around. However, when compared to previous endeavors by the creative duo, it's not at all what anyone would expect, and I think it might scare some a little bit. But you have to respect the artistry behind the album.

If you listen to the album as you would read a book, it's a lot better, and might make a bit more sense.

BigHans
December 2nd 2011


30419 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

When it comes to the Atmosphere brand, this album is a standalone from their other works. And on it's own two feet, it's an amazing album all around



^ The first sentence is true. The second is not.

BlatantLobotomy
December 2nd 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well BigHans, I suppose we could agree to disagree. Personally, I really liked the album, but most heads I know don't like most of the songs on the album.



But it's an undeniably beautiful work on some levels. Especially if you understand the intent behind some of the more inexplicable songs.



However, the matter really is too subjective to claim true or false, as this is just my opinion. And you can simply agree or disagree, not make concrete statements about it, such as true or false.

Counterfeit
December 2nd 2011


17837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"If you listen to the album as you would read a book, it's a lot better, and might make a bit more sense."



see this is stupid because thats what listening to an old album is like this one is just OH HEY THIS IS WHAT ITS ABOUT





BigHans
December 2nd 2011


30419 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

BlantantLobotomy everyone is obviously entitled to their opinion. I just think on a musical level this album is absolute shit in comparison to the majority of their massive discography.

Counterfeit
December 2nd 2011


17837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

musical and lyrical dogshit except for like 3-4 tracks

BlatantLobotomy
December 3rd 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do realize that I'm fairly alone in my love for this album, but hey, someone has to defend it, right?

elliootsmeuth
September 5th 2018


3793 Comments


Been listening to Became on repeat for the past few days. So good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy