Slipknot Slipknot
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ButtBoy
August 5th 2019


4387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh cool, when did the avg bump to 3.7? Between this and Iowa bumping up a few months ago...I'm liking this trend

Rowhaus
August 6th 2019


2570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

always gotta respect the legendary nine m/

Digging: Elephant Watchtower - The Church Is At Fault

trilo
August 8th 2019


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

m/ m/



all the new album hype has me real interested

Rowhaus
August 8th 2019


2570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

absolutely pumped for the new one m/

Dmax28
August 8th 2019


596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never listened to Slipknot that much, but have been binging them lately. But man spending some more time with this I can see why it's a classic album and why these guys exploded onto the scene. Songs like (sic), Eyeless, Spit it Out, Purity, and Liberate still have an iconic quality to them after all this time and sound like they are just begging to be blasted live. I really like the hip-hop elements, the DJs and samples especially feel like part of the fabric on this album, and they were cool on later albums but always felt a little more tacked on than on this album where they sometimes create the foundations of entire tracks. Pretty consistent album all the way through too. And to be this heavy but also this "mainstream" in a strange way, along with the image, was the genius of Slipknot.

DaveT0738
August 8th 2019


121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love Prosthetics, one of my favorites

BigPleb
August 9th 2019


59608 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Prosthetics live was insane, an easy highlight.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 14th 2019


6404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My first copy:

1. "742617000027"

2. "(sic)"

3. "Eyeless"

4. "Wait and Bleed"

5. "Surfacing"

6. "Spit It Out"

7. "Tattered & Torn"

8. "Me Inside"

9. "Liberate"

10. "Prosthetics"

11. "No Life"

12. "Diluted"

13. "Only One"

14. "Scissors" (silence+Eeyore)

Digging: King Crimson - In the Court of the Crimson King

InFlamesWeThrash666
August 14th 2019


9052 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

best knot

Digging: Tool - Fear Inoculum

ButtBoy
August 14th 2019


4387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@deftone it didn't have purity??

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2019


25778 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think "Purity" was available on most copies until the 10 year anni version came out? That and "Frail Limb Nursery" were replaced or something?

Digging: Carved Cross - Sapped of Strength, Left to Wither and Fade Away

ButtBoy
August 14th 2019


4387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh weird

Rowhaus
August 14th 2019


2570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah Purity was one of my favorites idk how it didn't make the cut

Hellscythe
August 14th 2019


4075 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Purity was on the original release of the album but then they had some legal issues with it. they had to remove it from future pressings until the 10th anniversary edition came out.

Digging: Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2019


25778 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"The song was written about a story that Corey Taylor read on a website. According to the story, a girl named Adrianne Purity Knight was kidnapped and buried alive. Corey thought that the story was true, but the author claimed that Adrianne was fictional, and objected to the use of the story in the song. Following the lawsuit, the album was re-released with the b-side track " Me Inside" (originally on the Digipak) replacing "Purity"."

KjSwantko
August 14th 2019


11344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Exactly. A shame too because Purity is probably my favorite song off the ST.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2019


25778 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i remember hearing the first time on disasterpieces and just being like "WHAAAAA THA FUCKK IS THIS?????"

DDDeftoneDDD
August 14th 2019


6404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I only had contact with it years later. I love the track. Never listened in the middle of the album. Cool to know its on the first original cut.

KjSwantko
August 14th 2019


11344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The entire Disasterpieces album is pretty fucking killer to be honest. I think it was Purity that they had like a snow effect starting the song and it was like oh damn this rules.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2019


25778 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It did! The visual of that performance is so creepy and perfect for the song



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy