The Dodos No Color
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2011


17450 Comments


has this band completed its quest to sound like every other band ever yet

Steoandnoodles
March 28th 2011


2832 Comments


No, not yet. They're one song away from it though. =P
I think it's just the instrumentals they used with Long's vocals that keep them from sounding original...amongst other things. =)

darnielle
March 28th 2011


221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not sure if i should check this



visitor was pretty cool

Steoandnoodles
March 28th 2011


2832 Comments


You might as well, if it's still streaming online give it a listen, if you like it; purchase the CD/ vinyl. =)

darnielle
March 28th 2011


221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i will thanks for the pitch

Steoandnoodles
March 28th 2011


2832 Comments


You're very welcome. =)

shakethatbearfight
March 28th 2011


31 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's a shame the whole album isn't as good as the opener. Black Night may be my favorite song of the year so far.

Steoandnoodles
March 28th 2011


2832 Comments


With you there man. =/
Though not Black Night, different track.

shazwagon
March 29th 2011


84 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not having heard VISITER, I am thoroughly enjoying this album. Though, of course, some songs are better than the others.



Also, Steoandnoodles, a very, very good review. I also appreciate how responsive you are to all the comments here.

Steoandnoodles
March 29th 2011


2832 Comments


Thank you very much shazwagon. Much appreciated! =D

If you liked this then you'll love Visiter. Definitely give it a listen when you have the time.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
March 30th 2011


22486 Comments


Ask & ye shall receive...

Firstly, Stephen, you really have a way with words. Already, you are over half way to becoming a great reviewer just with that. Furthermore, your descriptions are rock-solid. I have never listened to this band, but your review gives me a great (ignore the oxymoron) picture of what the band/album sounds like. So well done on that too.

Now for some nit-picking:

- The review is basically a track by track. While it's a good one, it's easier than you think to structure it a different way & not have it be a track by track. Maybe group similar sounding songs, or similar themed songs. You can still touch on each track if you like, just not in such an ordered fashion.

- The review is ultimately too long. Believe it or not, this is about the length most of my reviews start at. Cull, cull & cull. It makes it much easier to read. Trust me, people would have skipped paragraphs on this review. This won't happen overnight, but with each review, try to be more and more ruthless until you get reviews down to say no more than 6 paragraphs. If my verbose self can do it, so can you.

- Many sentences read awkwardly. Proofread, proofread, proofread. Then, take a few hours away from the review & proofread again. You have lots of semi-colons, some short sentences with commas & some long sentences with no punctuation marks at all. It's difficult while writing, but later put yourself in the shoes of the reader. EG: 1st sentence of both the 2nd & final paragraphs.

They are probably your 3 main improvements to work on... & in a way, they are all linked. Improving 1 should positivily impact the other 2.

Steoandnoodles
March 30th 2011


2832 Comments


Brilliant. I'm actually relieved to discover my reviews don't need to be as long as I do them and that a track by track system isn't the preferred way of reviewing.

It saves time not to have to deal with subtle details within particular tracks and of course proof reading is a given I have a tendency to get over-hyped once I finish a review and simply lash it out.

Thanks for all the help Davey. Much appreciated! =D

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
March 30th 2011


22486 Comments


No probs mate. You are well on your way.

Athom
Emeritus
May 3rd 2011


17242 Comments


this wore off me a bit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy