In Every Breath Awakening
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Willie:



Excellent review. Now I don't have to do it (especially since that damn Eisley stream just popped up).



Thanks Willie! To be honest I was slightly afraid I might have inadvertently robbed you of a release that you might have wanted to write on, but I'm glad to hear you have a new target to focus your attentions on ;)



As far as the front man issue goes, he is a lot more animated in a live situation. I just think that he didn't know how to act on the video.



Fair. That can happen sometimes. I'll take your word on him being better live, too =)

Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2011


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I saw them with their old line up and they were awesome. Have you heard their first EP, Distrust?

iFghtffyrdmns
February 22nd 2011


7044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice read Irving, will check this.

Irving
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Willie:



Have you heard their first EP, Distrust?



I haven't, unfortunately. Is it also streaming on Bandcamp, Willie?

TheStig
February 22nd 2011


252 Comments


Album is great. More people should check them out.

Irving
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ Word.

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


21108 Comments


They should learn how to black metal then they would be fantastic.

Zettel
February 22nd 2011


661 Comments


Warming up to getting back on track, my friend?

See, the review is obviously very well-written, but I have to say the inflated writing style you chose for this one bothers me in no little measure. It is almost as if you did not have much to say about it, and thought "maybe using big words and exaggerated statements I can make up for it". Just some examples:

"Although they aren't exactly newcomers to the hard rock scene, In Every Breath does give off the impression of being a wee bit fresher than most of their newer and more recent contemporaries"

I really thought the band had at least 8 years of existence, but it comes out they released ther debut in 2008, like two years ago, come on (and I only realize this at the end of the review, you cheater). This sole fact makes the use of expressions like "In Every Breath was forced to spend a full three years scratching around the underbelly..." and "reinvigorating the band's long-dormant fans..." way overdone.

"This unshackling of the band's ambitions manages to brook ("To brook" already implies managing something, but it is not the usual sense of the word) some stunning results" --- You are making them sound like Godspeed, You Black Emperor.

"The Joes' magnum opus is undoubtedly their interplay on 'Back To Symmetry' --- Are you really wanting to call an interplay betweem a bassist and drummer a magnum opus?

"But even further down the release..." --- on a four song ep this sound like a stretch.

"As is wont for many a band of their size..." --- "wont" would imply here that is the band's intention the low production quality, when in fact they suffer from it. Are your trying to say "As is the case/usual with many bands of their size...?

Some sentences seem unnecessary and long ("As Awakening is the first In Every Breath recording to feature any of their work..." --we could assume that, even if you do not mention it), or simply awkward ("...seemingly trying to compress (is that the word you want to use? Sounds like the band is just doing a medley of different song parts) as much as possible within six minutes of air-time -as in broadcasting?.



Zettel
February 22nd 2011


661 Comments


(cont.)

It seems you are trying too hard. All I get from the review is the band have a penchant for busting out interestingly arranged pieces , that it has a strong rhythm section, and the last track is probably the best, despite being "devoid from any pop sensibity" (if that has anything to do with the song quality). You conclude -- "while the brief EP is no grand artistic statement in itself, it does enough to suggest that a sophomore album from this hard rock outfit would be a worthwhile proposition". After the hyperbolic three previous paragraphs, it is quite a mild conclusion.

I hope to have been clear enough. Well-written, but over the top review. I am sure this is not your goal.

Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2011


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

About half of that is a problem with your personal interpretation, not the review.

Irving
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Zettel - thanks muchly for your comments and criticism; it was much appreciated. I've made several changes to the original piece in an attempt to address the flaws you pointed out. However - and after much thought I might add - I decided to leave some of the more debatable comments, but I will definitely keep what you said in mind for future reviews.



The ones that I left out were:



i.) "Although they aren't exactly newcomers to the hard rock scene, In Every Breath does give off the impression of being a wee bit fresher than most of their newer and more recent contemporaries"



You are right in saying that my usage of the word "newcomer" is arbitrary...that being said, yours is too. All told I feel that the rest of the review explains my labeling them as such.



ii.) All I get from the review is the band have a penchant for busting out interestingly arranged pieces , that it has a strong rhythm section, and the last track is probably the best, despite being "devoid from any pop sensibity" (if that has anything to do with the song quality).



That was exactly what I was trying to say.



-



Again, thanks a lot - this critique of yours was greatly appreciated =)



And your avatar greatly disturbs me, Willie. What is it? Underage bestiality? o.O

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


21108 Comments


It reminds me of something I saw in Despicable Me.

Irving
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, but that's not from that film, is it?

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


21108 Comments


Yeah, it could have been from a similar film.
You can see the typical graphical style that Universal studios use for their animation films.
Btw: I'm taking requests for reviews cause I don't know what to review after I've finished this one.

Irving
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can you review SowingSeason?



Plz. It would make my life.

Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2011


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is Despicable Me.

Sowing
Moderator
February 22nd 2011


44150 Comments


About half of that is a problem with your personal interpretation, not the review.

This.

@Irving: Great review, one of your best yet - contrib/staff quality and I'm not even joking. Keep up the great work, you have outdone yourself again and are setting the standard for user reviews right now.

Can you review SowingSeason?

Plz. It would make my life.

Who would be revieing me and what would it be measuring?

pizzamachine
February 23rd 2011


27401 Comments


Pizza read. Pizza like. Pizza pos.

Zettel
February 23rd 2011


661 Comments


Minor quibbles? Yeah, they were. Even though the review is essentially the same, I liked the modifications you did. As long as I can be of some help, it is alright, Irving.

Irving
Emeritus
February 23rd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Sowing: You're far too kind, but thank you. I hope to be able to keep at honing my style; obviously there's still loads of work to be done, but it's very nice to hear some encouraging words.



@ Pizz: Irving see. Irving like. Irving happy. Irving love.



@ Zettel: Dude, do feel free to point out any misgivings you have in my reviews - even if it is over something small like a semicolon. I always like to hear from you, and I greatly appreciate the time you took to critique my review. Thank you so much for your help.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy