The Republic of Wolves The Cartographer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2011


7502 Comments


Excellent review Sowing. I like how half the stuff on the front page is your work ;)

You're definitely starting of 2011 on the right foot! =)

Jethro42
January 3rd 2011


15640 Comments


review is good

AliW1993
January 3rd 2011


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review as usual, pos'd.



I wasn't really convinced by their debut but I'll give this a try.

WatchItExplode
January 3rd 2011


6441 Comments


This just seems really tame to me...idk, something's missing

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 3rd 2011


29881 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah im developing into a bit of a fanboy since i have watched them grow from nothing to where they are now (slightly more than nothing)



but i still think this is great from an objective standpoint or i wouldnt have rated it so high

Crymsonblaze
January 3rd 2011


8232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review as usual. I think I might like this more than Varuna.

transatlanticfoe
January 3rd 2011


171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

didn't get a feel for this after first listen, but i liked the little acoustic part at the end of the last track with the melody from "The Attic"

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 4th 2011


29881 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

im mad this hasnt come out on itunes yet. i just might have to buy it through bandcamp

OutOfMyself
January 4th 2011


688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Might have to give this another listen, but it was really disappointing, especially compared to Varuna

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 4th 2011


29881 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I take it you like the darker sound

OutOfMyself
January 4th 2011


688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I definitely preferred the harsher vocals/atmosphere in general.

OutOfMyself
January 4th 2011


688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright so I know this is a completely drastic change in opinion, but the 3rd time was the charm for me. It just clicked.

foreverendeared
January 4th 2011


14677 Comments


Hey, it's featured.

Deathcar
January 5th 2011


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So this rocks. Not as much as Varuna, but I like the fact it's more digestible.

JohnGrady
January 5th 2011


157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Def enjoy this more than Varuna. That just feels like it drags just a bit towards the end.

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 5th 2011


29881 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Woo this is finally on itunes! a wee bit expensive compared to other places, but oh well

AliW1993
January 5th 2011


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I preferred this to Varuna, but Mirage aside it still didn't do that much for me.

Dev518
January 5th 2011


580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've given a 4 to all of their releases. I feel like I should change one of my ratings.

DarthMarshall
January 5th 2011


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For all the Brand New comparisons this band gets, I actually hear a bit of Modest Mouse in the vocals.



Admittedly, I'm basing my opinion solely on The Cartographer, but this sounds to me like a band with a huge amount of potential. Very compelling listen.

Scoot
January 6th 2011


19189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is awesome but it'll go down to maybe a 4



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy