The Republic of Wolves The Cartographer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
January 2nd 2011


29561 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah. im waiting for it to come out on itunes because i still have $ on my account

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

DoubtGin
January 2nd 2011


6880 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review as usual



unfortunately, I didn't like this as much as Varuna (still a 3.5), but I hope it will grow on me

Dante101
January 2nd 2011


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey SowingSeason, great review! One thing you may want to change though:



"unrestrained vocal performance by Mason Maggio"



It's actually Gregg Andrew singing "Home", and he actually sings most of the songs on this album with the exception of "India" and the verses in "The Dead Men Stood Together". He's the main vocalist for "The Attic" on Varuna and "The Clouds" on HOB.



Other than that, excellent review. I hope I don't come off as snippy, just trying to be helpful. :]



Nagrarok
January 2nd 2011


8588 Comments


SowingSeason already putting out the '11 reviews.



Aids
January 2nd 2011


24455 Comments


cool cool I didn't know they had something coming out. Will check out.

ps., SowingSeason, you rule

Klekticist
January 2nd 2011


1265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sweet. will check out for sure.

Monsterpoptart
January 2nd 2011


195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review as always. I like this as much, if not better, than Varuna. It has the energy and catchyness that really only Oarsman had. Great start to the new year.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

OutOfMyself
January 2nd 2011


688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just checked out Varuna, and holy shit it's fantastic. Reminds me of a mix between As Cities Burn and Brand New.

Scoot
January 2nd 2011


19162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

big fan of these guys

Digging: Cara Neir - Part III / Part IV

Acanthus
January 2nd 2011


9812 Comments


Pos'd - the band is an interesting mix of styles, might end up getting this someday.

myhigherpie
January 2nd 2011


3029 Comments


I have high hopes for this band.

Varuna was great and this sounds like it fits my tastes.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2011


22485 Comments


Nice review SS... But can you please put some bands/albums in the 'Reco By Reviewer' section.

Apollo
January 2nd 2011


10678 Comments


I wanna get this but can''t find it anywhere

awesome as always my friend

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 3rd 2011


29561 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@Dante: Thanks for the correction, I knew that Mason was usually the lead vocalist, so I kind of just assumed it was him. I made the change, though.



@Daveyboy: you want me to rec emery like I did for my anberlin review? haha...but yeah I guess after 3 Republic of Wolves reviews I got tired of rec'ing the same artists: Brand New, Tigers on Trains

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2011


12039 Comments


i see what you did here

Digging: Default Genders - main pop girl 2019

Spec
January 3rd 2011


35633 Comments


Didn't they just release something?

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 3rd 2011


29561 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, they released Varuna on the last day of November - but they have had this EP completed for a while, so it isn't like it was rushed or anything

BrahTheSunGod
January 3rd 2011


1279 Comments


WHOA. Talk about starting the new year off right. Varuna was awesome, bought this, DL'ing.

Also, love love love that they're selling this via Bandcamp. Anything that lets me download in audiophile formats is great by me.

renegadestrings
January 3rd 2011


1521 Comments


never heard of these guys, but by the sound of your review, looks like they're definitely worth checking out. well done

Cartographer is such an awesome word. if it was more relevant, i'd use it every day

greg84
Emeritus
January 3rd 2011


7604 Comments


Great write-up. These guys bore me though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy