Agalloch The Mantle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
artiswar
April 27th 2019


9482 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

bruh... BRUH

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll take simpler music that has uniqueness and emotional impact over soulless instrumental wankery any day. There's nothing wrong with playing music that might be considered "simple" from a music theory standpoint or using basic chords. This also has pretty adventurous song structures and plenty of technical moments, mainly I Am the Wooden Doors and You Were But a Ghost...

Digging: Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 2

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I'll take simpler music that has uniqueness and emotional impact over soulless instrumental wankery any day"

Oh yeah, absolutely agreed on this! Nothing wrong with simplicity, I just find it somewhat tiresome that this is so centred around the same ultra-basic minor chords and entry level scale ideas; think I've slightly outgrown that sound. The two tracks you named are my favourites here; they have the best pacing and most memorable melodies imo

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Ghosteen

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I see what you mean, this sounds like magic to me despite the simplicity. In some ways that's even more impressive, they also experimented a lot with different sounds like using a deer skull in The Lodge and all the genrebending. A lot of the softer sections were influenced by a really interesting ethereal wave/ambient electronic album from the '90s called The Dynamic Curve by Sand. I reviewed it cause I felt it needed more attention, and I could hear qualities of it on this.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mmm I used to be on the same page and am kinda sad it's lost its allure for me. Will check out the Sand album!

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

https://www.sputnikmusic.com/soundoff.php?albumid=223738



This is it, could've sworn I reviewed but it either got taken down or I never got around to it

teamster
April 27th 2019


4422 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You two have checked out Fen yes?

Digging: Klone - Le Grand Voyage

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea the latest two Fen albums are excellent

Hawks
April 27th 2019


73699 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All Fen rules. The debut is under appreciated so ahrd.

Lucman
April 28th 2019


3396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This doesn't reaaally hold up with repeat listens. I echo Johnny's criticism with it being a little too simplistic.

Digging: Jimmy Eat World - Surviving

artiswar
April 28th 2019


9482 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

beep boop honk honk

zaruyache
April 28th 2019


21403 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[2]

Digging: Death Toll 80k - Step Down

Meridiu5
April 28th 2019


2709 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This type of stuff isnt for people in a rush or looking for technicality

Digging: Nathanael Larochette - Earth And Sky

LOVEANDACCEPTANCE
April 28th 2019


897 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

that's putting it a bit lightly

bloc
April 28th 2019


57940 Comments


This band only sounds good in fall and winter, so that explains that

Digging: Orange Juice - You Can't Hide Your Love Forever

artiswar
April 29th 2019


9482 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I never thought I'd see so much hate in a single page in The Mentle thread. I'm very surprised that you non-5s have no souls, but good to know.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2019


16659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No hate here

Just disappointment ;]

Hawks
April 29th 2019


73699 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn. :[

artiswar
April 29th 2019


9482 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's way more blasphemous.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2019


16659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In fairness, this has always been around my 2nd or 3rd favourite Agalloch (maybe 4th now...). Time to revisit Ashes; if Fire Above, Ice Below is no longer 110% magic, we're in trouble



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy