Agalloch The Mantle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band has not aged the best :[ Dropped to a 4, will have to go through their stuff in full and reevaluate soon

Digging: Macaroom - Homephone TE

artiswar
April 26th 2019


9255 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What do you mean by that? This record is timeless my man.

Sevengill
April 27th 2019


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah uh



band gets better every time



5 and rising

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The melodic and structural simplicity get me; I used to think they were a mark of good songwriting but now they seem kinda facile (and it doesn't help that I'm not quite in awe of their admittedly great knack for atmosphere as I used to be)

Hellscythe
April 27th 2019


4144 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I hope I don't get that lame when I get old

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn dude I'm still 22, you're gonna get old a lot faster if you set the standard that low :[

Giving this a relisten and hmm

Hellscythe
April 27th 2019


4144 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh shit I'm older than you



well



I'm glad I wasn't that lame when I was young

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha

About 20 minutes in and my misgivings were right; this about the best possible realistion of a beginner guitarist's aeolian-only scale jams with dynamics so obviously telegraphed they feel kinda clunky. Gonna skip to the tracks I loved here and revisit Folklore and Marrow sometime bc if the best bits of those are slipping, I'm in trouble...

Dedes
April 27th 2019


6649 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Maybe you're just gay and suck

Asdfp277
April 27th 2019


21311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so you are lame smh

Asdfp277
April 27th 2019


21311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damnit dede

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice sax

Sevengill
April 27th 2019


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Maybe you're just gay and suck [2]

Dimorphic
April 27th 2019


988 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[3][4][5][6][7][8][9].......[99]

Digging: Sacred Son - Arthurian Catacombs

StrikeOfTheBeast
April 27th 2019


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[100]

Asdfp277
April 27th 2019


21311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[67!]

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn guys, y'all lost deep in pagan woodland :[ Will get a rescue party going!

artiswar
April 27th 2019


9255 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the album has chord progression motifs that show up on a lot of tracks. i can see how that can get repetitive i guess but i love it. pale companion, odal, and hawthorne are legendary

tigersbrokefree
April 27th 2019


252 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nay, drowning in snow and spiritus frumenti.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think my problem is less the repetition and more the incredibly basic nature of the chords and melodies in question. Feel like I'm putting an overly harsh spin on it because I do like this album, but a lot of the composition seems they're incompetent rather than selectively simple and this grates on me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy