The Pax Cecilia Blessed Are The Bonds
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
LegendofPittman
October 29th 2010


2960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

SOOO O-O-O-O-OVERATED

merriweather
October 29th 2010


619 Comments


Good review : ) Haven't heard the album though.

HighandDriving
October 29th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, how gay of a name is Austin?

Comatorium.
October 29th 2010


4913 Comments


so gay!

merriweather
October 29th 2010


619 Comments


Are you kidding me?... Names don't mean anything, people assign connotations to them based on people or actors/characters/etc. they know. Or what the name sounds like.

SamuelJKrieg
October 29th 2010


87 Comments


[img]http://www.sputnikmusic.com/images/members/423043.jpg[/img]

HighandDriving
October 29th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Idk, if I was a social failure I'd name my son Austin so he could follow in my footsteps.

Oberon
October 29th 2010


3 Comments


fuck this album brah

HighandDriving
October 29th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck you bro. Fight me at a basement show.

foreverendeared
October 29th 2010


14680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lots of helpful and kind Sputnikers itt



it's kind of blowing my mind right now

Bitchfork
October 29th 2010


7581 Comments


"it's not really that you need to elaborate

like, everything in this review should stay, i think, but i also think there should be more to it.

obviously this is just the way i view things and everyone's got a different way of doing it, but to me music critics shouldn't just describe the music at hand and why it's good or bad. that's important yes but it doesn't really make me want to read the review. like, i could very well just have an overblown view of reviewing, but i feel that more than just describing an album, a review should be its own piece of writing that is enjoyable to read.

after reading this review, i definitely know what the album sounds like, which is great, but that's really all i know

so you did your job but i guess i just want something more from you because i know you've got it, if that makes sense"
Somehow I skipped over this. Thanks.

Bitchfork
October 29th 2010


7581 Comments


"Idk, if I was a social failure I'd name my son Austin so he could follow in my footsteps."
If you were a social failure? Aren't you one already?

HighandDriving
October 29th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gonna name my son Victor, so no.



i got one




I know.

Athom
Emeritus
October 30th 2010


17242 Comments


Pretty sure most of you noobs weren't even here when these guys were mailing out their album for free. Which is good cause I'd hate to think a physical copy of this would be held in Bitchfork's small, palmy hands.

i got one. the packaging and album art was astoundingly beautiful

Powerban
October 30th 2010


2384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the Tree is the best instrumental song ever. i love it so much.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 30th 2010


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I gots a physical copy too, it's probably one of the most gorgeous ones in my collection.



And Chan's right, you're like on the top end of the 'competent' scale when it comes to writing. What you do, you do very well but your reviews are dry to the point where I don't much care about any of it, whether of not you describe the music well or not. What you're missing is the no. 1 rule: get an angle, one that doesn't revolve around just how the album sounds.

Digging: Olivia Rodrigo - SOUR

Avirov
October 30th 2010


1206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not to mention how disgustingly opinionated the review is.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 30th 2010


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No that's silly all reviews are opinionated, in fact I wish this was more opinionated at least it would be interesting that way.

Comatorium.
October 30th 2010


4913 Comments


Well i think its pretty obvious that he sits in his room watching the disney channel thinking of which album to
negatively review to inspire some c-c-c-c-c-controversy on sputnik.

Adversely, he might choose to find an obscure, overly pretentious and bloated album, and 5 that bitch, then post a
review about how we wont get it cause our brains just cant function on his level.

in other news, i totally just listened to this for the first time today... its fucking gorgeous. easy 4, probably going to go
up with repeated listens.

Bitchfork
October 30th 2010


7581 Comments


"c-c-c-c-c-controversy on sputnik."
everyone says that if you're going to review an album, have a different viewpoint. Mine was different, not polemic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy