Weezer Pinkerton
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
whj247
December 5th 2005


55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im sorry, but i disagree with just about everything in this review, not to say you didn't do a good job of expressing your opinion. nowhere did i read about how long it takes to get to like this album, which is the most remarkable aspect of this album. it's so abrasive and raw, and a completely unexpected turn from weezer into the dark side of pop. when i first heard it, i hated it. getchoo was the only song worth hearing. then i opened up a bit and although i never have found a damn thing good about the lyrics, i still love the guitar work and rivers' heartfelt delivery. why bother, getchoo, falling for you, and the good life are my track picks by far. butterfly and across the sea are just fillers in my opinion.

Captain_HumpYourFace
December 12th 2005


119 Comments


I can't get into Weezer at all... I mean I just can't see what's great about them at all. Nothing against them as musicians since they got their shiz together but it just isn't my kind of thing I guess.

WeerezIsTehWinz
December 12th 2005


8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Getchoo" is one of your favorites and "Across the Sea" is just filler? That's... odd...



And Captain, which Weezer songs have you heard? If you've only heard the new stuff, then I suggest you give their first two albums a chance. The difference in quality between their first two albums and their last three is astounding.

Two-Headed Boy
December 27th 2005


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the featured album portion is sheer blasphemy. "a rather good band"? c'mon, they made at LEAST two classic albums.

Zebra
Moderator
December 27th 2005


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^I strongly disagree. I wouldn't consider Pinkerton or the Blue album classics.



While everyone seems to praise Weezer's first two albums, I really don't see what's so special. They are both great albums but I fail to see what's so amazing about them.



Pinkerton is flooding with anger and emotion, but sometimes the tracks are slow, and just boring. 'El Scorcho' and 'Getchoo' are excellent tracks, yet the two last songs are nothing special.

Two-Headed Boy
December 27th 2005


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^^ i love weezer. i consider their albums all good in their own way. Blue was beautiful. Pinkerton was complex Green was simple. Maladroit was hard rockin'. Make believe is just excellent.

WeerezIsTehWinz
December 28th 2005


8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Zebra, that's ridiculous. "Getchoo" and "El Scorcho" are two of the worst songs on Pinkerton, and "Falling for You" is one of Weezer's best songs ever. Rivers Cuomo used to be one of the greatest melodicists of recent times. That is what makes those first two albums such classics.

Two-Headed Boy
December 29th 2005


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i brought my ratings on the new albums down to 3.5 each.



that's more like it!

Mirror.Circuit
January 25th 2006


223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"goddamn yu half-japanese girls,d it to me every time."

greatest line ever.

good review.

Electric City
Emeritus
January 25th 2006


15762 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My Dad heard that after listening to the noise of the first half of the album and was like ok this must die.

Jawaharal
January 25th 2006


1832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

mehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Electric City
Emeritus
January 26th 2006


15762 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You dont like this albu mCheeto?

TurnTheOtherWay
February 11th 2006


459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Classic. Great review and awesome album. It grows on me even more with each listen. I've only had it for a month, so I don't know how much longer that'll last, however.



In my opinion this album's better than Blue. The other three abominations don't even deserve to be mentioned in the same sentence as Pinkerton. D[/b]amn you Rolling Stone! D[b]amn you!



I really can't pick favorite tracks from this album. It's all so great.



And on a completely unrelated note, holy crap! the Pens are winning 4-0! Nice!

Electric City
Emeritus
February 12th 2006


15762 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^And now for something completely different...

Brewer14
February 12th 2006


24 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

El Scorcho is so damn catchy, reading the title gets it stuck in my head

Two-Headed Boy
February 15th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If Pinkerton was a person, I'd bow to them and call them master, cause this album just embodies the nineties for me, along with Smashing Pumpkins's Siamese Dream. Every song on this album has some huge grip on me, even Getchoo and Falling For You get 5/5. I'd give this album 10/5, if possible, because it's just purely incredible and every time I listen to it I get more attached to it.This Message Edited On 02.15.06



I'm begging you edit this to a 5.This Message Edited On 02.15.06

Two-Headed Boy
February 15th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

originally posted by Mirror.Circuit:

"goddamn yu half-japanese girls,d it to me every time."

greatest line ever.

good review.


"Without shakin' and i ain't fakin, i'll bring home the turkey if you bring home the bacon"



no comparison

Electric City
Emeritus
February 16th 2006


15762 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah thats the better line.



The reason I still don't consider this a five is that i just find it too... dirty to call it a classic. This is a fun listen and a great album, but I don't find it like Blue, where it was just great song after great song.

Anglachel
February 20th 2006


152 Comments


Good review.

This is a great album. Much better than quite a bit of their stuff. Still, nothing in comparison to Blue Album :p

TurnTheOtherWay
February 20th 2006


459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The reason I still don't consider this a five is that i just find it too... dirty to call it a classic.




Heh... That's one of the reasons I liked this over Blue. All just personal preference I guess, as we can agree they're both magnificent albums.



And in my opinion neither of those lines can touch "I'm dumb, she's a lesbian."This Message Edited On 02.20.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy