The Word Alive Deceiver
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Feather
July 12th 2019


5200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Soooooo. They sounded stellar jamming all the old Deceiver songs ... then they announced they would play 3 encore songs ... I got hyped thinking I was about to hear some empire tracks (Casanova Rodeo, The Only Rule, etc.) ... Misery, Trapped, Why Am I Like This then played. No one moved, no one cared and the songs sucked.



It was actually really sad to watch a band so far past their prime trying to follow up their nostalgic trip by advertising their crappy new material that no one cares for, really low note to end such a great performance on.

KenboSlice
July 12th 2019


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's funny because Telle said the reason for retiring Deceiver songs is because the audience has a better reaction to the new stuff.

ButtBoy
July 12th 2019


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Why Am I Like This" I forgot about this song hahahahahaha what a stupid song and terribly stupid name

ButtBoy
July 12th 2019


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

remember when Telle wrote a song about the troops and named it after a shitty old horror franchise? yeah life cycles was a weird album

KenboSlice
July 12th 2019


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It makes me wonder why all these metalcore bands gone buttrock claim that the people at shows want to hear the new stuff yet when you actually go to the show's people go harder for the old songs.

Feather
July 12th 2019


5200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The crowd went 100% stagnant for Why am I like this. There was a giant pit opened for deceiver that went 100% vacant for the encore. Really awkward and sad tbh.

Feather
July 12th 2019


5200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"That's funny because Telle said the reason for retiring Deceiver songs is because the audience has a better reaction to the new stuff."



I didn't realize he said this ... poor guy. Must be hard to watch your band fade further and further into obscurity.



Honestly, I had a blast hearing them play Deceiver in full though! Great memories.

KenboSlice
July 12th 2019


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He's really trying to convince himself people want to hear the new stuff and is pretty adamant about it on Twitter. I bet after this tour their audience at shows will dwindle.

Feather
July 12th 2019


5200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean ... they didn't come close to selling out a relatively small venue and they were co-headlining with Miss May I who were also just jamming an old album. They really don't have much of a following anymore.

Devastator
July 12th 2019


3851 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Miss May I or TWA?

KenboSlice
July 12th 2019


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Miss May I actually played the bonus tracks apparently. So that's pretty tight.

Devastator
July 12th 2019


3851 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I wish they continued with the style of Forbidden and Descending Discovery, those tracks were phenomenal.

ButtBoy
July 12th 2019


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it really is funny seeing bands like TWA failing to sell-out small venues when they used to sell out bigger venues. says a lot about where the scene as a whole is at

Feather
July 12th 2019


5200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean, this brand of gimmicky metalcore is far past its prime. It was great and fun at the time, but if someone were to show me this album and tell me it was released today I would never spend any time listening.

Feather
July 12th 2019


5200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RIP



Blessthefall, Of mice and men, the word alive, escape the fate, eyes set to kill, in fear and faith, before their eyes, broadway

Devastator
July 12th 2019


3851 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Is Eyes set to Kill still together even more?

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2019


25579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Telle is such a bitch. I see him getting mad on twitter all the time that people are constantly nagging him about the direction of the band. And it's like -- i get it, you want to "grow" (b/c nothing says growth like middling nu-influenced alt rock!) but exercise that right in a different project. you built a fanbase on crazy breakdowns and zany keyboard flourishes, stick to that with TWA and keep everyone happy. if you haven't broken through the mainstream at this point, you literally never will, keep doing what at least kept you selling 150-200k albums consistently

Devastator
July 12th 2019


3851 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^ This exactly.

KenboSlice
July 12th 2019


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Telle has some sort of mental block that prevents him from seeing why everyone hates the new stuff

ButtBoy
July 12th 2019


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

he has always acted like a child on twitter. He definitely blocked me back in like 2013 haha.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy