The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
CrimsonChin
August 9th 2010


116 Comments


Great review, and an even better album

CrimsonChin
August 9th 2010


116 Comments


Funny thing about this album, for me, was that I downloaded this, Abbey Road, and Revolver all around the same time, and I liked Abbey Road the most, then Revolver, and then this. Now that I've been listening to them for a couple of months it goes this, Revolver, and then Abbey Road.

Schizophrenik
August 9th 2010


848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"they did it first. Whether some did it better is a different matter"



I think this is why the Beatles are so highly regarded. If you forget that they're the most innovative and influential

rock band of all time they're just above average compared to all the great music that's built on what they started.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 9th 2010


19503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pre rubber soul is great especially a hard days night. Also I must say pet sounds is maybe better than all beatles albums

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
August 9th 2010


31804 Comments


hey bulldog

Observer
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


8558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like a number of pet sounds' songs, but to me many of them just blend in together and sound too alike.

Digging: ISIS - Panopticon

Gyromania
August 9th 2010


30758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5



The thing with The Beatles that I find is that a lot of those similar artists are blatantly copying their style, as they did it first. Whether some did it better is a different matter, but it's still lacking in innovation if they did anyway. That's a lot of the reason why i say The Beatles were better, not to mention being way more consistent than those bands in comparison over their discography. The beach boys really had some god awful albums, much worse than those worse of the beatles imo




I'm not trying to detract from its influence, and I understand why it's held so high in regard, but in my opinion, the pioneers of a particular style or sound aren't always quintessential listening material. The beatles' discography bores at so many points, I think people are forgetting just how many boring albums they had, and a lot of their albums (this one in particular) seem inconsistent and filler-laden. One of my favorite albums is a Beatles album- Revolver- but that is peak Beatles material, and nothing else they've put their name to is anywhere near as good as that, in my opinion.



I guess it just boils down to preference, and a lot of their material has been overplayed on radio stations, and by me; regardless, their psychedelic appeal is totally lost on me these days.



You ever give The Millenium's Begin a shot? Think you'd love it.



Also Blossom Toes - We Are Ever So Clean and Billy Nichols - Would you believe




Not familiar.

PregnantTeen
August 9th 2010


168 Comments


the millenium are p good

Observer
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


8558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, and I can see where you're coming from. Give those albums a shot if you have time though, especially Begin. People say its the beach boys doing sgt pepper, so if that gives you any idea. Excellent stuff

Schizophrenik
August 9th 2010


848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"The beatles' discography bores at so many points, I think people are forgetting just how many boring albums they had, and a lot of their albums (this one in particular) seem inconsistent and filler-laden"



This is more or less my take on the Beatles. Most of their albums have 1 great song to 2 or 3 dull ones, although I haven't heard Revolver.

EVedder27
August 9th 2010


6088 Comments


Fantastic review. I like Revolver and especially Abbey Road more though.

Gyromania
August 9th 2010


30758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It sounds interesting, I'll look for it now as I'm trying to find some good albums to listen to on my upcoming train ride. Also, your review was pretty great.

Gyromania
August 9th 2010


30758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Schizo: Cheers. You should pick up Revolver though, it's their best by a mile.

Schizophrenik
August 9th 2010


848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thats good to hear, I'll definitely check it out.

Observer
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


8558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks mike, im planning to give abbey road another try at some point, but its always been one of my least favorites.



and thanks gyro, hope you like what you find. Especially pay attention to their harmonies and recording techmiques there, way ahead of its time

SoapySoap
August 9th 2010


865 Comments


You need to fix the title for "Fixing A Hole" on the second to last paragraph. Great review, by the way.

VicariousIntent
August 9th 2010


1627 Comments


Excellent, excellent review. I was just listening to this today and marveling at it. I was pretty surprised when I saw your review up on the front page, and was more than a little bit happy to find that you perfectly summed up my feelings on this album. Really excellently done.
Album is just brilliant. I'm constantly fascinated when I read about how they experimented with the production in the studio to get the sounds they did...that's so rare in modern music. Honestly, it's just another reason why this album/band will always and forever be held dear to my heart.

Jim
August 9th 2010


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let me introduce to you the greatest album of all time




nah





good review

robin
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


4595 Comments


Aren't you from the uk anyway shouldn't this totally be ur shit


they're from liv'pool so down here we all listen to bob dylan, nod and mime "quite".

luci
August 9th 2010


12527 Comments


Last song is the only one I can tolerate on this album.
I like Revolver though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy