King Crimson In the Court of the Crimson King
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
zakalwe
January 9th 2014


23387 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Anyone listen to Jade Warrior around here?

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2014


39425 Comments


Idk JT I find it a bit boring and overlong

Digging: The Used - The Canyon

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2014


4501 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Poseidon's title track rules, Rowan.



All of Poseidon is good, I mean yeah it's basically 'In The court' part 2 (with a jazz-pop rock track as an added bonus) but it still rules.

YoYoMancuso
January 9th 2014


12715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4.6 :]]]]]]



haven't been this happy since Bug got a 4.2

Friday13th
January 9th 2014


6115 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just goes to show what alts can do :]

Digging: Duke Ellington - The Far East Suite

Lotus
January 9th 2014


508 Comments


Alts seem to be the supreme sovereignty of sputnik

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2014


26797 Comments


Damn Rowan, t/t is prob top 3 off ITWOP for me (despite its similarities to Epitaph).

All of Poseidon is good, I mean yeah it's basically 'In The court' part 2 (with a jazz-pop rock track as an added bonus) but it still rules.


I'm not as critical of ITWOP for being "ITCOTCK Pt. 2" as most people seem to be. I personally think the album has plenty of character of its own. Other than the title track I don't think any of the other songs are as close to their so called earlier equivalents as a lot of people make out. I mean Pictures of a City is similar to Schizoid in the sense that its the album's 'heavy' track but really it's a completely different song. Plus, The Devil's Triangle, whilst being the equivalent of Moonchild in the sense that it's the album's lengthy improv track, couldn't be more different to its equivalent.

I think it's more the album's structure that is similar to its predecessor but even then there are distinct differences, such as the 3 part 'Peace' that is split up to serve as an intro, interlude and outro and the fact that the album ends in a completely different way to ICOTCK (with the imporv track serving as the main closer with just a reprise of Peace finishing it off). Plus of course the addition of Cat Food which you've already mentioned.

Digging: Open Mike Eagle - Brick Body Kids Still Daydream

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2014


39425 Comments


Agreed, the albums have a somewhat similar division of heavy/soft and that's about as far as the comparison goes
Damn Pictures of a City fuckin rocks

KILL
January 10th 2014


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Posiedon is one of KC's best albums and on pretty much the same level as this sup


it rules but come on

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2014


26797 Comments


It's amazing how much opinions of Poseidon have changed over the years. It's weird to think that most critics originally praised it as being considerably superior to ITCOTCK.

KILL
January 10th 2014


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

more like christgau

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2014


26797 Comments


Don't think I've read a review from him on it but it was pretty much the general opinion back then from what I've read.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2014


39425 Comments


Well KILL's always talking about music was way better back in the 60s and 70s
Maybe music reviewers were better too
who knows

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2014


4501 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Jamie

Exactly. You're 100% right.

To me, as I mentioned in my review, the similarities between the 2 albums lie in their (somewhat) identical structure and aesthetic, but each album has its own distinct 'personality'. Poseidon is much more optimistic and daring, where In The Court is just a really dark and moody album that never quite forgoes that mindsets. The songs do sound a bit the same, in that the sense that it follows the heavy track-gentle ballad-atmospheric title epic-and-experimental track paradigm, but while the sound of both albums are similar at first listen, you really do see the difference in mood by the end.



I guess you could say that what KC did with In The Court/Poseidon is no different than what Yes did with Close To The Edge/Relayer.

KILL
January 10th 2014


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the older it is the better and this beats poseidon by a year so true

KILL
January 10th 2014


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yea true pepper and close was much better too it all makes sense!

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2014


4501 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I agree with KILL here. Poseidon is great, but In The Court has much more emotion and focus than Poseidon. No way is Poseidon is superior, it's a good album, but I cannot see how someone would say its better.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2014


26797 Comments


I guess you could say that what KC did with In The Court/Poseidon is no different than what Yes did with Close To The Edge/Relayer.


Exactly, this is one of things that annoys me when people write Poseidon off for being a carbon copy. You don't hear people saying that about Relayer.

toxin.
January 10th 2014


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"It's amazing how much opinions of Poseidon have changed over the years. It's weird to think that most critics originally praised it as being considerably superior to ITCOTCK."



this shit happens all the time, extreme example is pinkerton but yeah. music reviewers actually really suck at predicting consensus. actually i see it on sput all the time, some users will have a convo about how a certain band's album sucks and the average rating agrees, but if you look at the staff review it'll be like a 4.5 and the reviewer will talk about how much the band improved.

meh

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2014


39425 Comments


"the older it is the better and this beats poseidon by a year so true"
So is Piper at the Gates of Dawn better than Wish You Were Here and Animals?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy