Arcade Fire The Suburbs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnZapp
July 29th 2017


30 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God this record hits me hard with middle school nostalgia. My fav album of theirs by far

Dylan620
August 1st 2017


3823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RIP my 2.5, just finished my most enjoyable/impactful listen of this in years. Think this is finally re-growing on me.

theBoneyKing
August 12th 2017


13458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Unpopular opinion: Flatland is one of their best songs.

Digging: Lambchop - Nixon

SandwichBubble
August 12th 2017


5162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's not even the best song on the second half of this album



Edit: also, I'm bumping this down to a 3 ):

^ Scratch that. please excuse me, I'm very indecisive with this album

Digging: Lil Ugly Mane - MISTA THUG ISOLATION

Sunnyvale
August 12th 2017


763 Comments


This was my favorite Arcade Fire for a long time, finally Funeral grew on me and passed it, but this is still very nostalgic.

xfearbefore
November 16th 2017


1568 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The more time goes on the more I believe this is the best thing they've ever done.



It's kind of trippy to see people on here talking about middle school nostalgia for this album, I remember when this came out as I had just joined Sputnik and was maybe 20 at the time, but the nostalgia for that period of my life where this album was a big deal to me personally stands strong.



I don't think I even bothered to check out anything they've done since this. It totally defines this era of "indie" rock to me.

Digging: Witchfinder General - Death Penalty

Artuma
January 10th 2018


29245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why have i only now come to realization that half light i is an absolutely gorgeous tune?

neekafat
January 10th 2018


8025 Comments


This is probably right up my alley tbh

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2018


17081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

This is such an ambitious and satisfying odyssey through so many different styles of rock.

Artuma
January 10th 2018


29245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it sounds crazy pretentious when you say it like that talons but it's actually true. i've been super into this lately, it's been years since i last truly binged it

Pheromone
January 10th 2018


5428 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I adore the t/t (best thing they've done imo) but not much else on here really

Digging: The Conet Project - Recordings of Shortwave Numbers Stations

theBoneyKing
January 11th 2018


13458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed on the t/t being maybe their best song but imo the whole album is amazing, tbh if you trimmed a few of the weaker tracks I may even still like it more than Funeral. As is it’s still a classic of the decade.

Dylan620
January 11th 2018


3823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Title track is excellent but it's not even the best track here; "We Used to Wait" my bois

TVC15
January 11th 2018


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

We Used to Wait and Sprawl II are the best on here tbh



Their best album is Neon Bible tho

Digging: The Smiths - Singles

theBoneyKing
January 11th 2018


13458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love Sprawl II but I also kind of hate it because its success was clearly a big factor in leading them down the 80s influenced route of the last two albums.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2018


17081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

I feel the same as Boney's last two posts.



It still boggles the mind how this band went the way they did. I didn't listen to more than a few dozen albums from 2017, but I think Everything Now was my least favorite of them all. It'd be nice if an instrumental version existed, it'd at least be decent background instrumental rock.

theBoneyKing
January 11th 2018


13458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah the vocals and lyrics on Everything Now were rather poor, I didn’t love the instrumentals either but a version without vocals would be significantly better, if still not great.

Artuma
January 11th 2018


29245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Their best album is Neon Bible tho"



funeral is still the best but neon bible is kinda underrated yeah

JWT155
January 11th 2018


13677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"God this record hits me hard with middle school nostalgia. My fav album of theirs by far"



Now I feel old remembering Funeral drop while I was already in High School

JWT155
January 11th 2018


13677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I personally love Refelektor and think it's highly under rated, Everything Now on the other hand is a dumpster fire and I'm hoping maybe they can reinvent themselves again into something much better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy