Black Sabbath Headless Cross
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gavierra
July 11th 2023


441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Unless you’re mistaking it with Seventh Star, which is far more AOR sounding than this

BladeRunner
November 14th 2023


603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Killer record, even if OP has a point that it is some sort of misguided attempt at Sabbath doing power metal. That said, I dig all the tunes and find myself spinning this frequently as of late. Obviously any shred of Sabbath's classic sound has been excised here. Perhaps easier to enjoy if one just pretends it isn't Black Sabbath. You know, until Iommi smashes you in the face with a massive riff only he could write.

arapinho1
February 18th 2024


350 Comments


1.5 ? Come on

0GuyMan0
February 20th 2024


4722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it rules

Sabrutin
March 22nd 2024


9841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

https://blabbermouth.net/news/black-sabbath-box-set-of-tony-martin-era-recordings-anno-domini-1989-1995-to-arrive-in-may

garas
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2024


8116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I can't wait for this to be available again on the streaming platforms.

0GuyMan0
April 8th 2024


4722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah I'm pretty sick of having to dig out my CD or listen to a youtube rip if I want to hear Headless Cross and Tyr

zaruyache
June 2nd 2024


27528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's on streaming wew

0GuyMan0
June 4th 2024


4722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Got my vinyl set and man I'm so happy Tony is getting some love finally. So many people getting an honest listen to one of metal's best-kept secrets for the first time.

Sabrutin
June 4th 2024


9841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah these albums were all in need of a bit more spotlight and beefed-up sound too considering the old versions, while very dynamic in mastering, were pretty thin sounding overall. Will have to properly rejam with an open mind



Could've avoided slamming them with compression tho, but I guess that's 2024 for you

0GuyMan0
June 4th 2024


4722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know shit about production or mixing / mastering but my biggest problem with tyr and hc is that the guitars and drums seem to have so much fucking reverb that it's impossible to not sound like precisely the early 90s era they are from.

Sabrutin
June 5th 2024


9841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

In that sense the remasters seem pretty conservative to me from what I'm hearing at first glance, still smack dab in the 80s-becoming-90s with the isolated echoing drums and all. It's cool to have them on streaming though, it'll bring new fans perhaps, especially if the louder volume "tricks" more people into liking them

0GuyMan0
June 6th 2024


4722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've seen a good response to Tony so far yeah

TheSonomaDude
June 12th 2024


9131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Are the Tony Martin albums finally on streaming now? Was there ever a good reason why they weren't? I always assumed it was just the band gatekeeping their "good albums" the same way Pantera does.

TheSonomaDude
June 15th 2024


9131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also can we please remove this review from being the featured review, it's so fucking bad wtf. 1.5 for this is utter bullshit

Futures
June 24th 2024


11234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is very solid but not mindblowing. martin is definitely an excellent vocalist with some killer range. i like the melodic edge here but really miss the classic heavy tony riffz. makes me appreciate the dio albums and especially mob rules more.



also there’s nothing more that martin loves than writing choruses with the title of the song in it lol. gets a bit samey but t/t and when death calls are really great. fun jam but hope one of the other martin albums is a bit heavier because that would be a great fit.

TheSonomaDude
June 24th 2024


9131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

always felt this was a bit more on the power metal side of things, and in that regard it’s really good. Probably could never be recommended as a doom metal album or anything sabbathy at all tbh, but I love tony’s vocals and other tony’s guitar solos alot, like iommi shreds hard here. Dehumanizer is definitely heavier tho. cant see you really loving Tyr but it's not a bad album at all, more kinda stuff like this tho. who knows lol

Futures
June 24th 2024


11234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah definitely feel power metal here. totally get why martin has a loyal group of defenders, he's awesome and deserves a ton of credit. just prefer my sabbath a bit more riff focused.

Sabrutin
June 25th 2024


9841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You'll prob enjoy Cross Purposes and the new mix of Forbidden!

Futures
June 25th 2024


11234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet sab, excited to get to them. very sad i'm on the tail end of my sabbath discog jam.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy