Janelle Monae The ArchAndroid
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2020


18743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Have y'all checked out the ep she did before this? Not as varied but even more fun imo, equally as stellar

WatchItExplode
April 5th 2020


8103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Several of those songs were prototypes for songs here. Many moons will always rule.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2020


18360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

“Sincerely Jane” !!!

nolerthebowler
April 6th 2020


4535 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sincerely Jane is probably my favorite Janelle song! Bring on the BIG-BAND.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2020


18743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Honestly that might be my fave too with "Come Alive" off of here (:

WatchItExplode
April 6th 2020


8103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's all amazing this is honestly still probably in my top 10 of the decade

nolerthebowler
April 6th 2020


4535 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

baBOPbye-yaaaAAAAAH

WatchItExplode
April 6th 2020


8103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thank you

Cygnatti
April 6th 2020


33230 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

still one of my favs, shame about her later stuff tho

Digging: Perfume Genius - Set My Heart On Fire Immediately

DoofDoof
April 6th 2020


8189 Comments


indeed

GhandhiLion
April 24th 2020


8956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I still don't understand why this is so acclaimed. It could have been a good ep.

Digging: Faux Shaman - Forbidden

ArsMoriendi
April 24th 2020


29581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

People like albums with characters and consistent themes? I mean it's not perfect, but I find it to be really enjoyable

Digging: Robovine - Get Dusted!

GhandhiLion
April 24th 2020


8956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Characters? Themes? Concepts? just read a book lmao

GhandhiLion
April 24th 2020


8956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

or watch a fritz lang film.

nolerthebowler
April 24th 2020


4535 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It’s acclaimed because it’s a whole damn vaudeville musical.

ArsMoriendi
April 24th 2020


29581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If i had to cut this down to an EP...



1. Dance or Die (fave)

2. Locked Inside

3. Tightrope

4. Oh, Maker (2nd fave)

5. Come Alive (The War of the Roses)

6. Wondaland



Clocks in at 22 and a half mins

GhandhiLion
April 24th 2020


8956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'd include those first 3

ArsMoriendi
April 24th 2020


29581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Characters? Themes? Concepts? just read a book lmao"



Is this a joke? I wanna say yes, but there are certainly people on this website who would make this statement in earnest

GhandhiLion
April 24th 2020


8956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Is this a joke?



No, actually. I appreciate lyrics sometimes, but the music is always primary.

ArsMoriendi
April 24th 2020


29581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Music is primary in music (of course,) and books are known for characters and themes... but to act like music that features characters and themes as a focus is a waste, spits in the entire face of musical theater, opera (classical or rock etc), concept albums, and a multitude of other work that a book couldn't make up for.



I feel this is obvious and your book statement is stupid. Like GhandiLion you're awesome and all, but your point there is just cringy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy