King Crimson Red
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GhandhiLion
December 27th 2019


7303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually now I look back at what you just wrote, you never emphasised complexity.



What would you say about The Ramones? One of the most original rock bands ever.

Digging: STABSCOTCH - Uncanny Valley

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2019


19275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

As someone who had practically lived and breathed the stuff at one point, you really get the sense that a lot of it truly is a bunch of posturing, but when it gets good, it really gets good. To me, a progressive piece of music doesn't necessarily need to be complex, which is what I think a lot of artists and fans truly miss the point of. Perhaps I am confusing innovation with progressiveness but I think they do go hand in hand with each other in a way.

Digging: Gil Scott-Heron and Makaya McCraven - We're New Again - A Reimagining by Makaya McCraven

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2019


19275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ramones? I can't truly say what I think because admittedly I haven't heard a complete Ramones record outside of a handful of singles. That's the beauty of it - there's always so much to learn and to discover. That's what I love the most about listening to music and sharing that experience with others.

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2019


19275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Like to emphasize the complexity thing: Cromagnon put out an absolutely barebones lo fi record with very little actual rock instrumentation and a lot of improvisation and unusual bits and pieces, but is a lot more progressive than say, the entirety of the Emerson, Lake and Palmer catalogue.

GhandhiLion
December 27th 2019


7303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You are right and wrong about Cromagnon because the accepted description of "progressive music" is not literal. : )



I liken the genre of progressive rock to alternative rock (though taken literally, this is even more confusing). It is a progression from the norms of its respective genre. That is why even though there is very little innovation in modern prog, it is still called progressive. (Because modern Dream Theater don't sound like the definitive rock band. I guess to most people this would be the Foo Fighters or something)



The reason why this definition was never applied to the likes of the Sex Pistols and Ramones? (the genre that began as a reaction against progressive rock )

The reason is the belief that popular music could only progress by becoming more "sophisticated" like Jazz or classical.



Gwyn.
December 27th 2019


17190 Comments


Originality is usually more incidental and is more about context than the actual music substance. Ramones are a very simple band who play rock tunes stripped down to the absolute bare bones, to the point that they proudly emphasized that simplicity, but that simplicity is precisely influential because of the cultural elements surrounding, as its heavy simplicity provided a counterpoint to the increasingly elaborate and lavish brands of rock that was dominating the airwaves at the time. At some point or another, either as an idea or by just sucking at playing, someone was going to make music like the Ramones purely off the fact that they simply took rock and kept it simple. This isn't to take away from their accomplishments or how influential they are but rather to demonstrate that innovation and progressive-ness are not usually correlated beyond maybe incidentals and in a lot of ways, they sometimes clash. I mean Ramones was considered a response and attack to prog rock (To an extent, although the Sex Pistols took that aggressve train of thought much further). Of course, it sorta depends on what you think progressive means since it's a fairly nebulous term, but generally progressive as most people seem to think it's music which emphasizes elaborate and lavish arrangements and playing usually influenced by classical music or jazz. The term "progressive" is anachronistic because it was supposed to talk about a specfic brand of rock of the time but now it just sorta stuck as a term to refer to all music that sounds like it was inspired by King Crimson or Yes or Gentle Giant or whatever. Now, a lot of the things that these acts "progressed" from are kind of the norm.

Edit: Hah, you ended up saying a lot of the same things I wrote down before I had the time to send my comment.

GhandhiLion
December 27th 2019


7303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Now, a lot of the things that these acts "progressed" from are kind of the norm."

I think some aspects of progressive music from the 70's have seeped into other rock sub-genres today. But being Progressive (long songs, "complexity", jazz, classical, Past life regression lyrics, instrument wanking) is still not the norm for Rock music.



edit: lol

DDDeftoneDDD
January 9th 2020


10714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the guitar on Fallen Angel is wrecking me up....

Digging: Vengeful Spectre - Vengeful Spectre

tectactoe
January 9th 2020


2260 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the drums during the final chorus always get me.

nuts

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

DDDeftoneDDD
January 9th 2020


10714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah man...no matter what this thing always gets you right in the heart&guts...You can try to go around and counter the obvious all your life...but...this is the best KC

ReefaJones
January 27th 2020


201 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fallen angel is so nasty omg that riff always gives me goosebumps



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy