Modest Mouse The Moon & Antarctica
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
February 10th 2019


17152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So like interludes sort of?

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

Dylan620
February 10th 2019


4985 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sort of, though I still consider them parts of each song, especially in the case of "Tiny"

theBoneyKing
February 10th 2019


17152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Interesting, I just compared the runtimes on the tracklistings for the album on RYM vs the one on Wikipedia and it seems the Spotify one agrees with the RYM one whereas what you describe agrees with the Wikipedia one. RYM's (which are pretty rigorously monitored to make sure they represent the proper information for a given release) come from the 2000 Epic CD which they consider the "primary" release of the album.

theBoneyKing
February 10th 2019


17152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Comparing the other releases listed on RYM, the longer versions of those three tracks only appear on 2 out of 8 releases of the album - the 2000 Matador CD, and the 2000 Epic vinyl. So yeah looks like if anything the shorter versions are the more common ones and since I haven't heard it before I can't "miss" those other parts (and since most people out there probably have the shorter versions) I'll just stick with Spotify.

theBoneyKing
February 10th 2019


17152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I must say though, as someone for whom flow and sequencing are very important one of the most annoying things ever is when there are two competing versions of an album.

Dylan620
February 10th 2019


4985 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm honestly shocked to hear that, it always sounded to me like the "longer" versions were meant to be in the first place because of how well they flowed together but fair enough. I do think you'll love this regardless

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I must say though, as someone for whom flow and sequencing are very important one of the most annoying things ever is when there are two competing versions of an album."



relate so hard to this. The Soft fucking Bulletin.



Digging: Macaroom - Homephone TE

Kompys2000
February 10th 2019


3140 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"The Soft fucking Bulletin"



God whyyyyyyyyy is Slow Motion not on the US version it's so good

theBoneyKing
February 11th 2019


17152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Changing the topic slightly but from the 5 minutes I spent looking at the tracklist of this album I must note, the song titles here just scream classic.

Source
February 11th 2019


13148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

their best album imo

DoofDoof
February 11th 2019


5077 Comments


‘Slow Motion’ has to feature on The Soft Bulletin

‘The Laziest River’ has to feature on Kaputt

‘Superunknown’ should really feature on Superunknown lol

Brit versions get it right 👍

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

yeah i would never listen to a version of this that cut those tracks short lol, original version is how it should be listened to

Pangea
February 11th 2019


3099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it is a classic yes

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2019


7716 Comments


I bought The Soft Bulletin in the states on CD, but cannot find a tracklist online that matches it. It has Slow Motion and Spiderbite.

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

Log S.
February 11th 2019


2707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I somehow ended up w/ the Australian version. It was on sale like 10 yrs ago at some book shop in New Orleans

SmashIsTheWay94
February 14th 2019


1400 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

god tier album. god tier band

Source
February 14th 2019


13148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

indeed

theBoneyKing
March 12th 2019


17152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well, finally gave this a first spin.



Enjoyed it a lot of course but I’m thinking it’s going to be more of a grower than their others I’ve heard so far, a lot more going on here in the production. Maybe not quite as many instant stunners as TLCW.

hal1ax
March 12th 2019


13880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

indeed

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup, this is a definite grower tbh - I remember falling in love with 3rd Planet on the spot and taking a while to come back to the rest of it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy