Flying Lotus Cosmogramma
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ChoccyPhilly
September 29th 2014


11669 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fair enough. It grew on me a lot and the last minute or so is perfect

Digging: Mount Kimbie - Love What Survives

Sleaper
September 29th 2014


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dead mans tetris is solid as fuck, but nothing else really clicks with me...3 - 3.5 is where i'm in between

LordePots
September 29th 2014


38256 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

kendrick is on point on that track

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2014


15558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah I think Kendrick sounds great and "coronus the terminator" bangs too

ChoccyPhilly
September 29th 2014


11669 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ Best tracks on the album, along with Dead Man's Tetris

LordePots
September 30th 2014


38256 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

truth

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


4501 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

youre dead is pretty solid overall, as of now, i'd say it's about on par with utcq in terms of entertainment value (but i loved that

album so that's not insulting) though likely to take 3rd in my preference list.



best tracks for me so far: never catch me, cronus, moment of hesitation, the boys who died in their sleep and obligatory

cadence (i loved utqc sound so). agreed with potsy the second half is just as good as first.

Gyromania
September 30th 2014


23452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

knew you'd prefer the jazzier songs, hernan :P the boys who died in their sleep is actually really cool, very creepy

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


4501 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey matt. here i kind of do, but i actually love flylo's more hip-hop/club sounding kind of stuff the most (Los Angeles is quickly becoming my favourite. i cant go a day without listening to gng bng or melt!).



and yeah i love the "nocturnal" tracks. like electric candyman was one my favourites from utcq because i love it when he goes for that sound. flylo is just a genius though, everything he does is usually amazing.

LordePots
September 30th 2014


38256 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

awe ye

jtswope
September 30th 2014


5657 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A genius he is.

Rev
October 1st 2014


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Descent Into Madness gives me huge Bungle vibes

clercqie
October 1st 2014


6520 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Love the free jazz kind of stuff on the new album. Los Angeles is still my fav though.

Rev
October 1st 2014


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cosmo's my favorite album ever, but LA isn't far behind

clercqie
October 1st 2014


6520 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've been warming to Cosmo lately, actually.

Rev
October 1st 2014


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good

ChoccyPhilly
October 1st 2014


11669 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can only get into the first half of this, the second half sadly bores me

climactic
October 6th 2014


22300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

anyone seeing flylo next week in new york?

LordePots
October 7th 2014


38256 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gonna see him in van next month possibly for free

SeaAnemone
October 7th 2014


21407 Comments


cool things about You're Dead!:

The album was originally called Jodorowsky—a nod to Chilean director Alejandro Jodorowsky, whose movies often deal with the subject of death (a recurring theme on an album called You're Dead!)

"Never Catch Me", which features Kendrick Lamar, was recorded at Ellison's home. Kendrick "came alone," he said, "With a hoodie over his head. Ready to work. He wrote it on the spot and laid it down."

Earl Sweatshirt can be heard "saying shit n the background sometimes" on "Dead Man's Tetris".

Snoop Dogg's appearance on "Dead Man's Tetris" "almost didn't work," so he had to "rework the beat." Ellison said Snoop was "really into the concept," and asked if Ellison knew that he'd made "a song like this" called "Murder Was the Case". Ellison's response: "ummm. Yea I heard of it"

Some of the beats were almost given away to other artists. Ellison says Mac Miller wanted "Coronus, the Terminator", while "Siren Song" "was originally intended for Pharrell." (As he said in an interview with Pitchfork, "I think the concept of the album was kind of off-putting to him because he's, for lack of a better word, happy. You’re Dead! might've been a little much.)

There's a version of "Ready Err Not" that features Chance the Rapper freestyling over the beat. "I sometimes play it in my live show," Ellison said, so keep an ear out. A video for "Ready Err Not" is in the works, by "one of my favorite animators of all time."

The beat for "Eyes Above" was made with FKA twigs and Niki Randa in the studio. Also, Kendrick recorded a verse "that can't come out I guess." Ellison added, "'Eyes Above' without Kendrick still breaks my heart." (In an interview with Pitchfork, Ellison said it was removed for "political reasons.")

Another version of "Obligatory Cadence" exists, featuring Ellison "singing about a dream I had once about a deity who took me into the clouds and showed me a world without darkness."

Ellison also shared this larger statement about the motivation behind the album: "I knew that when I set out to make this record I'd lose some people with the concept but I didn't do this shit to be crowd pleasing. What ever happens, I know I did what I set out to do. With minor heartbreaks. Truth be told going the 'easy way' is tempting sometimes but I was like fuck it I'm gonna make something only I can put together. A lil self indulgent? absolutely. Thats kinda the point. If you ask me. I had to tell my story!"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy