The Sorrow Blessings From a Blackened Sky
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Yeahtoast
April 25th 2010


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol it's true :P I do think Origin Of The Storm delivers a more dominant performance vocally.

bloc
April 25th 2010


70400 Comments


Yes, that I can agree on. He uses more highs and lows instead of staying in the middle like he does here.

Yeahtoast
April 25th 2010


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I'd agree on that too. I'd love to see them live I'd say they whip up a hell of a storm.

Demonicgman
April 26th 2010


417 Comments


this is a lot better than their 2nd cd.

soap91
April 26th 2010


125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a relatively unheard of band that deserves the spotlight more than most. Great review man. Pos'd.

Yeahtoast
April 26th 2010


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Silence! Appreciate the positivity from all you guys! Definitely a band that deserves the spotlight, awesome two albums.



Demonicgman, I can't decide which one I like more! I've just started a review for album number 2, it's hovering around a 4.5 also.

jrowa001
April 26th 2010


8752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty good band

keyserfunk
April 28th 2010


288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great review of a fantastic album. Couldn't agree more. Their ultra heavy guitar sound, flawlessly executed riffs/hooks, and emotional choruses set them apart from most of the genre. A real sleeper hit of a band.

Yeahtoast
April 28th 2010


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks keyserfunk. This is one of the best I've heard in a while, I felt the review was necessary!

ShadowRemains
May 24th 2010


27947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listening to this right now, From This Life is my fav off of it

iLikeSchlager
October 25th 2010


123 Comments


This is one of my fav bands... your review pointed out why, good job dude. and well to answer your question, saw em life 2009 at summerbreeze. they blow an enormous circle pit in a full tent despise the fact that amon amarth played a few hundred meters away- still looking back at this gig as one of the best of my life. btw i think blessings from a blackened sky is better than origin of the storm, but got no idea why. both are good albums from a band living in a german speaking country (proud of that as an german) :D.
Yeahtoast asked for bands from austria. well could give a few examples of german death/metalcore bands (german / austria almost the same in my opinion)
-Heaven Shall Burn + Caliban (well known i think)
-Fuck Your Shadow From Behind (Yes its their bandname... and its a shadow**** from behind that they are that unknown... listed FYSFB as an example for a nice deathcore band with german lyrics, if you like em check out cult of gaia) both are a bit underground. and both have stopped playing
-Neaera (check out armamentarium or let the tempest come, best records of em in my opinion)
-maroon ((in my opinion order is their best album)more hardcore influences as i think. i'm not that good in sayin what genre it is, maybe becouse i dont care that much ;])
-War from a Harlots mouth
have fun listening
sorry for bad english

Oceans
November 5th 2010


934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good album

Yeahtoast
November 7th 2010


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey Schlager, thanks for the kind words and the cool story, unfortunately I missed these guys when they played here recently, but from what you described they sound pretty incredible :/ and I also prefered Blessings From A Blackened Sky to this.



Thanks for the recs! I'll definitely be sure to check out any of those I can find, apart from Heaven Shall Burn, War From A Harlot's Mouth and Caliban, i already quite like those guys!

XplaugeX
November 9th 2010


185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is amazing...the guitar work is crushing and catchy as hell at the same time. Plus the breakdowns are some of the best i've ever heard. Good review. I honestly liked Origin Of The Storm slightly more than this album, mostly because of the improved vocals I assume.

LG
November 17th 2010


3050 Comments


weakest album

Willie
Moderator
November 19th 2010


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This one was kind of boring and generic. I definitely liked the new one better.

bloc
November 19th 2010


70400 Comments


WHAAAA???????

Willie
Moderator
November 19th 2010


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What's special about it? What am I missing?

bloc
November 19th 2010


70400 Comments


You don't feel this is much heavier than their newest one? If anything, their newest one as a more generic sound.

Willie
Moderator
November 19th 2010


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought that the riffs could have been heavier if the production was better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy