The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
March 4th 2020


19171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ok boomer.

Digging: Mercury Rev - Yerself Is Steam

Deathconscious
March 4th 2020


25072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4.2 is a really high average, idk what youre complaining about.

Digging: Thaetas - Shrines to Absurdity

theBoneyKing
March 4th 2020


19171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sure but 1) this is the greatest album of all time and 2) I’m pretty sure it’s been a 4.3 as long as I’ve been on the site

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2020


27189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Remember when Boxer was a 4.4 :[

Digging: Coaltar of the Deepers - Come Over to the Deepend

Larkinhill
March 4th 2020


6926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It’s a great fucking album, but I think the rating is pretty accurate. The averages don’t typically get much higher here, do they? I see the occasional 4.5 or what not, but usually the higher rated albums are between 4-4.5.

Larkinhill
March 4th 2020


6926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Remember when Boxer was a 4.4 :[



This is more deserving of a 4.4 than Boxer. But TWFM and Alligator are better.

Zeuzo
March 4th 2020


2212 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Their streak from Boxer to Trouble deserves atleast a 4.5 avg

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 4th 2020


35234 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is so much better than Boxer it's silly

Digging: The Microphones - Microphones in 2020

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2020


27189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Lies and heresy! but definitely in the same conversation

Pangea
March 4th 2020


4428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Boxer is so much better

Digging: Ben Howard - I Forget Where We Were

Artuma
March 4th 2020


31659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

both are in that god tier. splitting hairs if you're gonna claim one is better than the other

Digging: A.A. Williams - Forever Blue

dedex
March 4th 2020


4096 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Nah this is their peak

Digging: Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 4th 2020


35234 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I got into this band with HV and had my heart shattered into a thousand pieces over the former love of my life with it playing in the car and now I can't hear any part of it and not become immersed in all the horrible feels. Sounds like a bad thing but since I'm an adult now who feels nothing and is a part of the machine, it's nice to return to that time.



Boxer I listened to like every 2 years since then in a pointless attempt to make it mean something to me, but it's nothing more than a collection of good songs.

tectactoe
March 4th 2020


3010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This and Boxer are great but only lads with true taste know that Trouble Will Find Me is unequivocally their best (and therefore most under-appreciated) album.

Digging: Illuminati Hotties - FREE I.H: This Is Not the One You've Been Waiting

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 4th 2020


35234 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

most underappreciated is between TWFM and SWB

best is between HV and SWB

theBoneyKing
March 4th 2020


19171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All of Alligator through SWB are 5s, but agreed with Art that this and Boxer are the ones in that true next-level god-tier. TWFM is there on its best days too, which is to say, most days.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 4th 2020


35234 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It makes me sad how much of an afterthought SWB seems to be, though. (even though I think it was the staff album of 2017, lol). But any time discussion of their discog surfaces, it's always buried somewhere in the middle ranks. There's some days I think it's their best album outright, but usually returning to HV puts me in my place.

theBoneyKing
March 4th 2020


19171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

To say SWB is my 5th favorite National is not to downplay it at all, it would be nearly any other artist's best album by far.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 4th 2020


35234 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I know exactly what you mean, but once SWB hits the stretch of:

8. I’ll Still Destroy You

9. Guilty Party

10. Carin At The Liquor Store

11. Dark Side Of The Gym

12. Sleep Well Beast

...I become out of arguments as to why it's not their best.

HV only edges SWB for me because the whole album is better (although the 3-track stretch of Conversation 16, England, and Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks is untouchable)

My god what a fantastic band.

theBoneyKing
March 4th 2020


19171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed that that closing run is absolutely insane (though it really kicks in at "Guilty Party" rather than "Destroy" for me). Personally though, that's the section that elevates it to 5 territory, so it's definitely not enough to make it their best.

In contrast, every song on this is a personal 5/5 for me - the only album I know where that's the case. So in that sense there's still a notable gap between this and SWB for me, but practically speaking it is splitting hairs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy