The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
October 3rd 2019


29568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and yeah alligator > boxer

Demon of the Fall
October 3rd 2019


15002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I almost forgot IAETF came out, probably for the best at this point. Maybe I repressed it from my memory after wasting a load of time on it.

Digging: Saor - Aura

Gyromania
October 3rd 2019


29568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

alligator > trouble > boxer > high violet > i am easy to find > sad songs > sleep well listener > s/t

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 3rd 2019


33397 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

SWB is a low key powerhouse

Digging: Shell of a Shell - Away Team

Gyromania
October 3rd 2019


29568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

6 plays for me and i still think it's their most tedious album. lack of melodies and the ones that are there are w/e. there are maybe 3 songs i return to.

EyesWideShut
October 3rd 2019


5218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I Need My Girl is probably the most generic and weak Natty song on that album

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 3rd 2019


33397 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It was definitely the one that took me the longest to appreciate, but now I'd say all of the following are essential National gems: Day I Die, The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness, I’ll Still Destroy You, Guilty Party, Carin At The Liquor Store, Dark Side Of The Gym, and Sleep Well Beast.



I think the album's worst quality is that the first half is so lacking compared to the second. The entire back half of SWB is gold, first half requires a bit of patience.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2019


18892 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sowing speaks the truth.

SWB is underrated, easily their best outside of the big 3.

I Need My Girl is simple but it works. That cylindrical guitar melody is wonderful.

Digging: Tennis - Swimmer

tectactoe
October 3rd 2019


2270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alligator

Trouble Will Find Me

-

High Violet

Boxer

-

Sleep Well Beast

I Am Easy to Find

Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers

-

s/t



(Dashes to denote more notable gaps in quality.)

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

RadioSuicide
October 3rd 2019


1259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SWB is fucking awesome, saw them while they were touring for it in Pitt, was much more engaging than when I saw them while they were touring for TWFM

Larkinhill
October 3rd 2019


6059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TWFM

Alligator

High Violet

Boxer

Sleep Well Beast

Sad Songs

IAETF

theBoneyKing
October 3rd 2019


18338 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

6 plays for me and i still think it's their most tedious album.


lol @ thinking you can have a conclusive opinion on a National album after 6 plays

Larkinhill
November 8th 2019


6059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this for the first time in a few months. Goddamn, the two opening tracks are god tier.

benkim
November 8th 2019


3835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Everything here is god tier. Their best album for sure

Larkinhill
November 8th 2019


6059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It’s a great fucking album, but there are a few meh tracks for me (Anyone’s Ghost, Little Faith, Vanderlyle).

benkim
November 8th 2019


3835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Little Faith is actually their best track alongside Afraid of Everyone. Vanderlyle is also their best closer.

tectactoe
November 8th 2019


2270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agree that 'Little Faith' is the weakest track on here, and 'Anyone's Ghost' would be among the next-weakest tier (though still very good, obviously). However 'Vanderlyle' is a classic.

I've always thought 'Afraid of Everyone' was super underrated, too.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2019


18892 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Little Faith is amazing, one of my favs. Really high energy and passionate.

Larkinhill
November 8th 2019


6059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’d say their best closer is Mr November. Also love Lucky You and Hard to Find.



Vanderlyle just doesn’t do it for me for some reason.

CosmicPie
November 8th 2019


2278 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

These were the days...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy