The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
benkim
October 9th 2017


3160 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

In apartment story they have definitely not accepted the situation at least not in a remotely positive way "everything we did believe, is diving off the balcony" but at least they have each other to give each other comfort. I have always imagined Geese to be the two of them just letting lose and leaving behind the shackles of adulthood if only for a night. The very sad melody kinda highlights that they do know that it isn't going to last. Again they have each other. Slow Show doesn't really need any explanation. He's going back to his partner who "puts a ribbon on his brain" after having a horrible day at the office where he feels like he doesn't fit at all. Contrast this to songs like Conversation 16, afraid of everyone, and terrible love where in the TL he is facing extreme anxiety in raising his family and feels just so alone! That is why I see this one as the darkest of all



TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2017


16775 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If anything your arguments are convincing me that this is their most anxious. Yes, there's trepidation over having a kid and a family, but those things end up being the most important things in life, and many of these songs have more energy and resounding crescendoes than Alligator or Boxer which overall makes it a little lighter to digest. I hear more optimism and hope in here than Alligator or Boxer, but lyrically I guess this isn't much less sorrowful, because there is a lot of anxiety and sadness in the lyrics.

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes

theBoneyKing
October 15th 2017


12920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This pricey stuff makes me dizzy

I guess I've always been a delicate man

It takes me a day to remember a day

I didn't mean to let it get so far out of hand


Digging: The Delgados - Hate

Ocean of Noise
October 15th 2017


9774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is both their most flat-out depressing album and their most cathartic tbh

Digging: Burzum - Filosofem

FearThyEvil
October 15th 2017


15374 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still going through their discography but this has stood out as the best so far.

Ocean of Noise
October 15th 2017


9774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is the most immediate, and it was my favourite on my first listen through their discography. Overall though I think I prefer Alligator.

zakalwe
October 15th 2017


23373 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I’ve completely abandoned this band. Still appreciate ‘em and love this album but I dunno they’ve just temporarily run their course I ‘spose.

theBoneyKing
October 15th 2017


12920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Blasphemy.

zakalwe
October 15th 2017


23373 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I’d have said the same if it wasn’t for Lambchop and Tindersticks. Blame Doof.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


16404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The National owe a lot to Tindersticks but when you see The National live you realise they ARE a rock band.



Tindersticks and Lambchop just aren't - they're arty sorts, they'll never get the blood pumping in that way.



Ok, the gig this year was weaker than the previous time I saw the band, and the latest album is weaker than the previous album too. Thing is, they're still one of the best. Treat them more like R.E.M. - you could have stopped listening after 'Green' but then you'd miss out on 'Automatic', something like that :/

Digging: Cathal Coughlan - The Sky's Awful Blue

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


16404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The National have transformed into more of a 'band effort' - they've become much more of a 'guitar hero' band, far less strummin' now

Hopelust
October 15th 2017


2747 Comments


Am I the only one that thinks the new album has absolutely nothing on this?

zakalwe
October 15th 2017


23373 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I haven’t given it a chance to be fair but nope you’re not the only one.

Evokaphile
October 19th 2017


5872 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

GO OUT AT NIGHT WITH YOUR HEADPHONES ON











AGAIN

Digging: Charlotte Gainsbourg - Rest

MayhemWithMercy
October 23rd 2017


3968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was a little disappointing on 1st listen, I expected a more straightforward, punchy sound in the vein of Boxer, just more evolved.



Gotta check Trouble Will Find Me and SWB next

theBoneyKing
October 23rd 2017


12920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is still pretty straightforward at least from a songwriting perspective, the arrangements are just a bit more embellished.

MayhemWithMercy
October 23rd 2017


3968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Does Twfm and Swb sound closer to this one or their older stuff?

Evokaphile
October 23rd 2017


5872 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Neither. They've become considerably more minimalistic

MayhemWithMercy
October 23rd 2017


3968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That sounds appealing actually. Gotta jam them

theBoneyKing
October 23rd 2017


12920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SWB is the closest you'll find to Boxer but even that is more chilled out and has some more experimental stuff going on. TWFM is the most subtle of them all. Don't judge this too hard on the first listen though, everyone knows The Mational albums are growers.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy