Deftones Diamond Eyes
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2015


13624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They are posting loads of studio pics on instagram lately, so I'd definitely say this year sometime.



How's it going Emyay?

Digging: Big Dumb Face - Where Is Duke Lion? He's Dead...

LordePots
March 10th 2015


38261 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fuck i hope not

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2015


13624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hope not to what?

tempest--
March 10th 2015


20577 Comments


i fucking wonder

Emyay
March 10th 2015


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet, definitely time for some new deftones in my life. going great doctor. getting lasik surgery today

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2015


13624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sick of the specs, man?

Emyay
March 10th 2015


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, i hate wearing my glasses. usually go with contact lenses but that's all a thing of the past after today

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2015


13624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice one!

PappyMason
April 29th 2015


5702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, I forgot how great 'Sextape' is.

wwf
April 29th 2015


5660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

new album's coming out around september

Digging: Terror Pigeon! - We Will Never Run Out of Love!

chinesewhispers
April 29th 2015


4719 Comments


Hell yeah

And yuh Pappy probably my favorite song here

Evenoss
April 30th 2015


212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The music video for Sextape is seriously breathtaking.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0pdwd0miqs



Besides, someone has put 'Rivière' (from SNW) on Breakbot's 'Fantasy' video. They surprisingly fit well together :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iv2bkUgozwI

Funeralopolis
April 30th 2015


14080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Chino is legit one of the best vocalists ever

Digging: Dyscarnate - With All Their Might

chinesewhispers
April 30th 2015


4719 Comments


Yeah but from what I've seen he's pretty inconsistent live

Funeralopolis
April 30th 2015


14080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I kind of like this album but it is just... missing something. It doesn't feel like there is a real theme to this album just a bunch of songs kind of slapped on a disc and here it is. If anyone knows what the band's vision was for this album or lyrically the vision I'd be interested in hearing it.



White Pony is a million miles ahead of this album because of its extremely well executed theme, its sexiness and mystery as well emotion but this is drastically a step down in all of those areas from White Pony, although I suppose they aren't supposed to be the same.

chinesewhispers
April 30th 2015


4719 Comments


"I kind of like this album but it is just... missing something. It doesn't feel like there is a real theme to this album just a bunch of songs kind of slapped on a disc and here it is."

Exactly why I prefer KNY. More care put into the full product

"If anyone knows what the band's vision was for this album or lyrically the vision I'd be interested in hearing it."

Musically, I think it represents them coming together as a band again, if that makes sense. Lyrically, though it's open to interpretation, I can't help but think most of these songs are about Chi, or things related to his situation (death, heaven, hope, etc.).

"White Pony is a million miles ahead of this album because of its extremely well executed theme, its sexiness and mystery as well emotion but this is drastically a step down in all of those areas from White Pony, although I suppose they aren't supposed to be the same."

I think this is a different kind of sexy/mysterious; a more intimate, gazing at stars and city lights kind of sexy, rather than the dark, neo-noir feel of White Pony.

Funeralopolis
May 1st 2015


14080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I still haven't heard KNY, but I'm still kind of just getting into this band, although I listen to White Pony a lot and have been for quite a few months now.



I really like the bands lyrics and atmosphere but it all feels under-utilized to me if it isn't going towards some theme.



"I can't help but think most of these songs are about Chi, or things related to his situation (death, heaven, hope, etc.). I think this is a different kind of sexy/mysterious; a more intimate, gazing at stars and city lights kind of sexy, rather than the dark, neo-noir feel of White Pony."



I'll try giving this a listen with this sentiment in mind, thanks.

chinesewhispers
May 1st 2015


4719 Comments


Yeah, no problem. This band can sometimes be kind of tricky to get into, since all their albums sound quite a bit different, so don't get discouraged if the next album or two you spin don't hit you as hard as WP

Gestapo
May 1st 2015


1287 Comments


the most important band of all time yes will spinkick whoever disagrees

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2015


13624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bring it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy