Frightened Rabbit The Winter of Mixed Drinks
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deathconscious
September 22nd 2017


24651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bumping all the FR threads cause theres a new EP out.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGDIc9kQ4kA

Digging: Defeated Sanity - The Sanguinary Impetus

Hawks
November 21st 2017


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love these guys so much.

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 12th 2018


34515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been listening to all FR albums to gain a fresh perspective, because for many of them it's been years and years since i've revisited



this is probably closer to being tied with painting of a panic attack as my #2 behind organ fight than i ever thought; i also love how optimistic it can be at times



edit: why is "skip the youth" so much better than I ever remembered it being? damn.

Digging: Motion City Soundtrack - Go

Darius The Imposter
May 20th 2018


22294 Comments


The more I listen to these guys the shitter I feel; Scott was an awesomely talented songwriter and vocalist, why did it have to end this way???

Deathconscious
May 20th 2018


24651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

as with the rest of FR albums, this one has some lyrics that are absolutely haunting now.



This is easier now

I have found all the pieces that I lost in the flood

It wasn't that much

And though it's easier now

I will always remember the night that I almost drowned

all alone in a house



So the hymns that I’ve sung

Prayers for the fucked from a bitter forked tongue

Sing of history now

Though the corners are lit

The dark can return with the flick of a switch

It hasn't turned on me yet



And though I dreamt with a rapid eye

By day I hoped to rapidly die

And have my organs laid on ice

Wait for somebody that would treat them right



What if I am never thrown that rope?

And what if this tear in my side just pours and pours and pours?

I wonder if they'd notice that I'm not around

The loss of a lonely man never makes much of a sound

Sunnyvale
June 20th 2018


1491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, this album is so good.

RadicalEd
July 3rd 2018


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is so much better than it's initial reception.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2018


8018 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

best fr

Digging: Echolyn - Echolyn (II)

Deathconscious
March 23rd 2019


24651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

https://soundcloud.com/frightened-rabbit/sets/a-celebration-of-the-songs-of-scott-hutchison-live-at-rough-trade-nyc/s-nmnmn?fbclid=IwAR1IEiZ7HoYwIy-iVz6Yw6f4y9zdWmPAdX0h2sLlCr02w5M3-t8kMNhGlXY

BigHans
March 27th 2019


30931 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Total masterpiece. The Lonliness and the Scream is one of the best indie rock songs ever made, and Things and Footshooter aren't far behind.

anatelier
March 27th 2019


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

scott's on record as disliking this album (maybe not disliking but his least favourite) and i think it's incredible. compared to MOF sure the production might seem overwrought but i think overall these tunes have the most staying power. not to mention the theme of bodies of water which is all over this thing.



no point listing my favourite tracks because it'd be the whole thing.



"at first it bleeds, then it scabs. i feel like a haemophiliac"

Digging: Perfume Genius - Set My Heart On Fire Immediately

BigHans
July 12th 2019


30931 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cant understand the 3.7 rating for this. Album is a masterpiece and absolutely loaded with jams.

Deathconscious
July 12th 2019


24651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"scott's on record as disliking this album (maybe not disliking but his least favourite)"



Which is funny because ive heard Things is his favorite FR song.

BigHans
July 12th 2019


30931 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Things is an incredible song. Footshooter is massively overlooked, its fucking amazing.

Deathconscious
July 12th 2019


24651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed



Hold onto your thuuuumbs

Tighten your eeeeyeli-i-i-ids, ah ah ah-ah-ah

Lock up your ears my dear, im verbal when i am loadeeeed

anatelier
July 12th 2019


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That bouncy vocal melody on Footshooter is so cool agreed. I think this album is Scott’s lyrical peak, every track has some god tier quotes.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2019


8018 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Shoegaze-y guitar fuzz on a lot of this is so great for its mood.

Larkinhill
July 24th 2019


6633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Skip the Youth and Footshooter are amazing.

Larkinhill
July 24th 2019


6633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And Not Miserable, Yes I Would, Nothing Like You.

Larkinhill
July 25th 2019


6633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slapping a 4 on this, at least for now. Could grow more. Great album, but not a classic/masterpiece like TMOF.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy