Unwound Leaves Turn Inside You
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2021


34683 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Top 10 swagcore confirmed

I think this album's bones are post-hardcore in the sense that Unwound were always a post-hardcore band who wrote post-hardcore and played post-hrdce, but the way this opens that sound's scope to so many other styles so seamlessly and with such a strong unifying a t m o s p h e r e is p much the best thing ever agreed

Digging: Xiu Xiu - OH NO

loveisamixtape
April 1st 2021


10086 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's the magical thing that happens when a bunch of punks get really depressed and creative and then just give up the band entirely



they also self recorded this whole album in a studio they built together. the difference between sound between this and their more posthxc stuff is crazy but it also still feels like them in every way. one of the best ever tbh

Digging: The Spirit Of The Beehive - Entertainment, Death

loveisamixtape
April 1st 2021


10086 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i've listened to this a bazillion times and have prob said this in this thread before, but def will always remember listening to this with headphones in its entirety while driving through the entire state of stormy, windmill ridden Kansas with a car full of my sleeping roomates. very fitting and ethereal listen



i got a speeding ticket on this same drive and didn't know what county it was in bc fuck kansas so i had to call like 20 different offices to find where my ticket was / pay it

Supercoolguy64
April 1st 2021


10371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album sucks so bad it’s the worst band of all time ever

Digging: Ween - Pure Guava

Supercoolguy64
April 1st 2021


10371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wait wtf love you drive while wearing headphones

loveisamixtape
April 1st 2021


10086 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i did bc they were asleep. i am polite not dangerous god dammit

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2021


24160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

this shit's crazy

Digging: Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO - Promises

GhandhiLion
April 8th 2021


11024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This isn't radiohead

Digging: Vijay Iyer / Linda Oh / Tyshawn Sorey - Uneasy

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2021


34683 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just had a flashback to the heady days of Unwound vs. Bjork -gate

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2021


24160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Me too.



But Bjork's my queen, and I've just met these very talented chaps.

GhandhiLion
April 8th 2021


11024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's cool that Terminus sounds like Yanqui. But Yanqui did not exist

Get Low
April 8th 2021


9756 Comments


this sucks

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2021


34683 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^was trying to pin down what I'd forgotten about this since I last jammed, but I think you nailed it right there thank you.

Mort.
April 8th 2021


16159 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

amusing

Digging: Elliott Smith - From a Basement on the Hill

Tyler.
April 8th 2021


18349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this sucks

Demon of the Fall
April 9th 2021


19032 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

‘Just had a flashback to the heady days of Unwound vs. Bjork -gate‘

This happened.. erm but why? That’s a decision I choose not to (and don’t have to) make.

Digging: Unwound - Repetition

Sharenge
April 9th 2021


1473 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

who won?

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


34683 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ummmm I think the COMMITTEE decided it'd be the juiciest matchup and also that Talking Heads had the highest chance of killing off Pink Floyd, but at that point shit was out of hand. Cannot wait for the rerun this yr!

Pikazilla
April 9th 2021


15472 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I hate furries

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


34683 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Shar, watch the video breakdown for that result bc it was probably the only showdown that translated into actual hype youtubing lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy