Sigur Ros Takk...
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
barns
November 27th 2009


79 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. Like too many great bands, the greatness of this record is always going to be compared with their other greats. Great, great, great.



Great review.

Gyromania
November 27th 2009


29344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sigur Ros is easily one of my favorite bands and I'm glad to see them getting more attention on Sputnikmusic. Review was great, as always, Greg. You get a pos vote from me. Saeglopur is outstanding.

Romulus
November 27th 2009


8579 Comments


So you recommend this over ( )? That's all I've listened to and it's pretty amazing.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2009


7471 Comments


Thanks Dante! They do seem to be a sputnik favorite lately.

Yes, I think this better than untitled, but each of the band's albums are very different. If you liked that one a lot, you may or may not like this one. Takk is not quite as ambient or expansive as untitled; it has a loft of builds and climaxes, which happen to be the reason why I love it so much.

Digging: Joris Voorn - Balance 014

cirq
November 27th 2009


9350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i fell in love with ( ) before takk... ( ) is like a sadder version of takk

EasternLight
November 27th 2009


2710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this doesn't hit me as much as their other stuff, but its still great.

Gyromania
November 27th 2009


29344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Saeglopur is a pretty emotional song for me; it's also the one that got me into Sigur Ros.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2009


7471 Comments


i fell in love with ( ) before takk... ( ) is like a sadder version of takk



That's a good point: this one is generally more happy-sounding, especially hoppipolla.

Kiran
Emeritus
November 27th 2009


6076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad to see them getting more attention on Sputnikmusic.


i wouldn't say there's ever been a lack of attention for sigur ros on sputnik!

cirq
November 27th 2009


9350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haahha who said that? sigur ros is one of sputnik's babies

Observer
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2009


7471 Comments


I think Dante is refering to how the band is recently getting a lot of attention I suppose. They're always been a sputnick favorite but as far as comments go.

Gyromania
November 27th 2009


29344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, but haven't you noticed as of recently more people seem to be taking interest? *Edit* Didn't see your comment, Greg.

cirq
November 27th 2009


9350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well i know that ive been sucking sigur ros' dick since ive been on this site

Gyromania
November 27th 2009


29344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There have been like 5 reviews in the last 20 days though; not too bad.

cirq
November 27th 2009


9350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2 by observer

Observer
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2009


7471 Comments


4 really, one was rather prententious ;) haha

Gyromania
November 27th 2009


29344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol, I like mine

Observer
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2009


7471 Comments


Haha just pointing a finger at myself by the way, so I hope no one gets offended.

thebhoy
Emeritus
November 27th 2009


4463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do you not like "Heysatan"?




Probably my least favourite Sigure Ros tune outside of some of the Von stuff, and that god awful Ara Batur song from their new one. It's like the boring parts of a Sigur Ros song for four minutes without any of the good parts. When I saw them in Toronto they opened with it and I wanted to tear my hair out, set the mood for the rest of the show.



oh, and good review by the way. pos'd

eggsvonsatan
November 27th 2009


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review. Great album. The only reason its not a 5 for me is because the last 3 songs don't always keep me listening to the whole album. Most of the time, I'll hear Gong and then put something else on.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy