Halestorm Halestorm
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tiesthatbind
March 17th 2010


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep. And Innocence is definitely my favorite now.



Here's a toast to the ever-growing Halestorm community within Sputnik.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2010


31631 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cheers, bro, we got em up to a 3.5 average... a "great"!

tiesthatbind
March 17th 2010


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet, you're right.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2010


31631 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

CHILD DONT FOLLOW ME HOME



dude i need to see her live.

DELienz
May 28th 2010


50 Comments


I was confused by your 5 star rating on Obie Thrice's album, but then I see you r giving this crap band credit so now I'm not so confused... I won't lie I only know one song from this band (I get off), but it's probably the worst song I've ever heard...

Destructerator
April 12th 2012


854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Girl's got an excellent voice, checkin this out.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
December 8th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It may have taken over a decade after formation, but Pennsylvanian youngsters Halestorm have finally got around to releasing their debut LP. Produced by - & co-written with – Howard Benson, the quartet play mainstream-leaning hard-rock that owes a debt to both hair-metal from the 80s & post-grunge from the noughties. What differentiates Halestorm from the pack is the powerful vocal range of female vocalist Lzzy Hale, who confidently balances swaggering sex appeal with genuine raw energy. The song-writing is fairly predictable, but there’s a fair amount to enjoy here. Recommended Tracks: Love/Hate Heartbreak, It’s Not You, Familiar Taste of Poison & Better Sorry Than Safe.

pedro70512
December 8th 2012


4167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

that's where they really shine. Lzzy's stage presence and crowd play are second to none, and Arejay is quite a showman without looking like he's full of himself.

Manqaness24
January 27th 2013


159 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Meh.......

Apollo
February 12th 2013


10680 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

holy fuck this is bad

MisanthropicElf
May 15th 2013


98 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But not 1.0 bad.

Moople
June 22nd 2013


228 Comments


Balls to the Wall >>>>


Moople
June 22nd 2013


228 Comments


rip dethtrasher

miketunneyiscool123
October 10th 2014


5523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well-written and agreeable. As good as they are, I do agree they wouldn't be anything without Lzzy. Just put a gruff male singer in place of the songs: They would sound like any other post-grunge/active rock band.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2016


2611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hadn't actually listened to this album in full until recently, but I recall years before I'd been listening to songs via a shuffled playlist or by random stalking across Youtube. Obviously the bigger, better songs piqued my interest somewhat (the first three songs here, 'I'm not an Angel', 'Nothing to do with Love'), but I think the album as a whole was only ever supposed to fling Halestorm headfirst into the mainstream. And the self-titled debut does that job perfectly, despite the record not being wholly consistent. I think from 'What were You expecting' through 'Dirty Work', the band seems to lose their musical force a little and let the quality lower, but they do revitalise the qualities on songs like 'It's not You' towards the end. Probably the band's best album (though I have yet to hear the two other Halestorm records).

Digging: Atlantean Kodex - The Course of Empire

miketunneyiscool123
July 27th 2016


5523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's a decent album.

StrikeOfTheBeast
January 20th 2019


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First time jamming this in two years. Still rules. \m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy