Converge Axe to Fall
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dimsim3478
November 10th 2015


7744 Comments


heard it man bleeder is 8/10 but it's kinda got that same ballou production yet sounds sufficiently different because of the non-hardcore style

btw the riff on "gnarcissist" from the EP is one of the best riffs of all time and i think about it like once a week without even listening to the record do you agree that that riff fuckin rockksssssss?

SpiritCrusher2
November 10th 2015


5828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hahah for sure man, it kinda reminds me of hocus pocus, but who cares, it rocks m/

demigod!
November 10th 2015


49257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sounds like hes just going on autopilot when hes producing a lot of the time these days

magicuba
November 12th 2015


1269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just wanted to say that Wretched world is probably the nicest song ever. Those Genghis tron vocals....

Digging: Oranssi Pazuzu - Valonielu

StarlessCore
November 12th 2015


5707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hes done some bleh hipster core recently but also always does good stuff, plus, the older catalog of records he's produced is stellar



all of converge's stuff

orchid

mosquito control from isis

until your heart stops from cave in

doc 8 from pg 99

jeromes dream

curl up and die

beecher

breather resist

witness by modern life is war

moon is a dead world (come on lol)

pygmy lush

black breath

nails

today is the day



i mean not to say he hasnt done some mediocre stuff as well, but he is absolutely one the best producers in this scene and if you dont think so name some with a track record like that



i mean moon is a dead world, orchid, pg.99, cave in, jeromes dream COME ON

Artuma
November 12th 2015


29245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

starlesscore knows

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2015


13462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a lot of his best work was done in the 2000s, cant think of much from recently thats blown me away

Digging: Palehorse - Looking Wet In Public

StarlessCore
November 12th 2015


5707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mort but maybe its not the production job that isnt blowing you away



but the mediocre pool of hxc bands that he has recently worked with



he produced some classic screamo and 21st century hipster hardcore when it was at its peak



screamo will never reach that level again

Titan
November 12th 2015


18239 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ahh yes good ole converge........the soundtrack to the lives of adolescent boys

StarlessCore
November 12th 2015


5707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

u stink

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2015


13462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"mort but maybe its not the production job that isnt blowing you away



but the mediocre pool of hxc bands that he has recently worked with



he produced some classic screamo and 21st century hipster hardcore when it was at its peak



screamo will never reach that level again"



its a mixture of both tbh, the bands tend to underwhelm me (all of my fav hardcore, screamo, metalcore etc bands were around in the late 90s and through the 2000s) but at the same time the production is sort of bland and generic.



The record he did with Swain is a good example eurgh



BandNewbac
November 12th 2015


2354 Comments


I love that record though, probably one of his best.

i feel like the code orange records are probably some of his worst

Digging: Vargrav (FIN) - Netherstorm

Artuma
November 12th 2015


29245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the soundtrack to the lives of adolescent boys"



straight to the point my friend

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2015


13462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I love that record though, probably one of his best. "



dude that swain record is bland as hell, if youve heard any hardcore youve basically heard most of the riffs on there

StarlessCore
November 12th 2015


5707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea some of his production has become more streamlined but hes just trying to make a living.



still, his production peaked during the mid 2000s and it happened to align with him getting the best music to produce around that time. my god the screamo from that era just ten years ago

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2015


13462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if only the emo revival would die and make way for a 90s core revival or something

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2016


18936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The production of this is crazy good

Artuma
March 1st 2016


29245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

every converge album apart from halo has a crazy good production

Artuma
March 1st 2016


29245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"if only the emo revival would die and make way for a 90s core revival or something"



yes please!

MyNameIsPencil
March 1st 2016


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bring back disco



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy