Fela Kuti Zombie
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 1st 2018


55999 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yes

Digging: Patrick Holland - Reality Picture

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2018


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, very bold of him to do something like with all of that happening to him. Although, if we were to talk about context forming a Kuti record, the story of how Expensive Shit came to be is a lot more...humorous? Not as gripping as Zombie's backstory, but definitely ballsy.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 2nd 2018


55999 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i just admire his strength and musical integrity in the face of such a tragedy. the story about this song is of legend to me.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 2nd 2018


55999 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

he also invaded the militaries barracks with his mothers casket

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2018


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that I've heard, they left it there iirc?

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2018


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Although, his energy and output aligned with his struggles against such an oppressive force is an inspiring aspect of his works.

Gwyn.
January 2nd 2018


17221 Comments


The backstory of Unknown Soldier is also interesting in how he came to put everything together after had occurred. It also has lyrics that describe in grueling detail the events before this album, and it's pretty haunting stuff, especially his more intense than usual performance.

ArsMoriendi
September 9th 2018


30093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've checked both Zombie and Expensive Shit, which 2 Fela albums should I check next?



I'm only checking 2 more for now

Digging: Coil - Stolen And Contaminated Songs

ArsMoriendi
September 9th 2018


30093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

adr suggested Roforofo Fight and Sorrow, Tears and Blood, when I first checked this, so I'll probably go with those actually

50iL
May 27th 2019


5381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

classiclassiclassiclassic

Digging: Morton Feldman - String Quartet No. 2

ArsMoriendi
May 27th 2019


30093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rate it! :P

50iL
May 29th 2019


5381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

okay lol 5

ArsMoriendi
May 29th 2019


30093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing album, yeah, I think I prefer Sorrow Tears and Blood though

50iL
May 29th 2019


5381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I still gotta discog most of Fela's stuff, although I've listened to most of his well known, early stuff

ArsMoriendi
May 29th 2019


30093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I only know 4 of his albums: Zombie, Roforofo Fight, Expensive Shit, and Sorrow Tears and Blood, and I like STB best

Zig
July 4th 2019


2133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah!

Digging: Koenji Hyakkei - Dhorimviskha

Trophycase
October 23rd 2019


1930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

zombie, oh zombie

ArsMoriendi
October 23rd 2019


30093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing album especially the t/t



Love the keyboard solo on it so much

50iL
October 24th 2019


5381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Joro, jara, jorooooo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy