Pink Floyd Echoes
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
pfandozzyrock
December 26th 2005


40 Comments


I dont think this album is worth buying at allunless you are new to floyd and are jsut looking for some of there greatest hits. IF you truly like a band you'd support thewm and buy all there albums such as myself. I even have there origional vinals and the art is amazing, dont waste your time if you are serious about the band.

Skyler
January 16th 2006


1084 Comments


I really liked this album, and I'm glad they layed off The Wall a bit and put some of their other material on here. The Wall is good, but over rated, and I think their older stuff deserves some attention.

stephankirstein
January 18th 2006


20 Comments


the wall deserves the praise its receiving
and i think echoes is a stupid concept for a band like floyd, since they're albums are all progressive musical 'tales'. When i think about any floyd album i think about the themes and how the whole album works together to get a message across.

Brewer14
January 29th 2006


24 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like this CD. I agree, disc 2 is better

DesolationRow
January 29th 2006


833 Comments


This was a complete waste of time. No need for a Floyd hits, because in a sense, every Floyd album is just as good as every other one, for the cool conceptual writing behind them.

nobodyblossomsforever
February 12th 2006


63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Awesome review.



FOR ME TO POOP ON!



j/k good review and I like this album too

pinksideofthefloyd
March 2nd 2006


3 Comments


this is a fair album, i think it was mainly put out to re-vamp their career to a newer audience, and it seemed to work, with floyd's classic albums bieng put back onto the album charts.

The mix of songs here is not great to be honest. Whilst I am a huge fan of Syd Barret - and prefer his solo work to solo records of any of the other members - I think that a few tracks here could have been chopped. Whilst tracks like arnold layne, see emily play and astronomy domine were rightfully included, i do not see the place for Jugband blues or bike, as neither of these tracks really showcase the great works of floyd, and were filler on their rightfull albums, yet alone a greatest hits.
Interstellar Overdrive would have been a better choice as this song and Astronomy Domine have proved to be the Syd songs that still seem fresh to this day.

Finishing with my view on Syd era songs, I think there were a few other songs on this album that should have been left out.

Marooned, Keep talking, and Hey You (in my mind) don't really fit a greatest hits album, as they arn't really stand out tracks. These should have made place for the the amazing Atom Heart Mother (which is the band greatest instramental piece IMO) as that seems to have been the only album they left out (appart from the soundtracks and live albums.)

Sheep should have obviously been Dogs, which is the far superior track of Animals, their most under rated (and best) album.

I will agree to the reviewer on his views about High Hopes, Fletcher Memorial Home, and When The Tigers Broke Free.

After Waters had left, Pink Floyd lost a lot of their individuality, especially on A Momentary Lapse (which is their worst album ever I think). They brought back some creative sparks with Devision Bell, but there are no real stand out tracks on that album APART from High Hopes.

The Fletcher Memorial Home is the only track off of "The final cut" I can bare, and never liked it untill this Greats hits collection came out.

"when the tigers broke free" is an emotionally sluggish track, which does get better after a few listens. This was only really put on the disk to persuade Floyd fans who had all the albums to buy this, as it had not been previously available.

All in all i think this album has a fair attempt at telling the floyd stroy on 2 disks, but doesn't quite cut it. If you want a greatest hits, just buy Animals, Wish You Were Here and Darkside.


pinksideofthefloyd
March 2nd 2006


3 Comments


Nice review by the wayThis Message Edited On 03.02.06

Four 2 Zero
March 11th 2006


2 Comments


no one speaks


azninvasion292
July 19th 2006


21 Comments


how could they butcher echoes and shine on? and where's dogs.
nice review

Retsigam
August 12th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review of the review 'Pinkside'.. and a nice review as well. THANK YOU for not making a soong-by-song review. Just read one of The Wall...



Dogs - Sheep?

There is no way on earth you can create a 'best of' album of just any artist since there is as many opinions of wich is the best track as there are tracks.



It is especially difficult to make a best of Pink Floyd album since, as many already has mentioned, most of PFs work is concept albums.



Listening to just one PF song is like just looking at the mouth of Mona Lisa.

Cygnus Inter Anates
August 12th 2006


721 Comments


You look at the mouth of Mona Lisa?

I bet that turns you on. Perv.

Antoine Lemonne
December 24th 2006


8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review. This collection definately worths buying.

Comrade
January 9th 2009


93 Comments


I think at least one of the two In the Flesh tracks should be on this compilation. But whatever.
Awesome review! :thumb:

bab808
October 5th 2010


456 Comments


i just don't understand, what's the point of making a PINK FLOYD greatest hits? doesn't make sense to me....



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy