Voivod Infini
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
June 16th 2009


18057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I will do the new Dream Theater just to keep up my streak of DT reviews. I never got into Voivod, don't think I'll get this until I have listened to their old shit.
Yeah, you're supposed to do one plus there has already been two posted (and deleted) too. Ours might end up similar because we have the same rating.



As for Voivod, this definitely isn't the place to start. If I had answered StreetlightRock's question more directly I'd say to try Dimension: Hatross and The Outer Limits and figure out where to go based on what you thought of those two albums.

jingledeath
June 16th 2009


7101 Comments


I got this but I can't get myself to listen to it, maybe tomorrow

BallsToTheWall
June 16th 2009


49866 Comments


Good review, good band although I dont have enough from them. Also, I probaly wouldnt allow a girl to kick my ass. I'll take the felony.

Digging: Guild Of Lore - Autumn Macabre

Relinquished
June 16th 2009


42564 Comments


It'll just be another crime in South FL, right?

BallsToTheWall
June 16th 2009


49866 Comments


Girls in SF seriously take advantage of their gender. I.....cant bring up any stories but frankly, In Bruges is my inspiration.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2009


8529 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ALL Voivod albums are a must-have. Period.

Willie
Moderator
June 16th 2009


18057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I got this but I can't get myself to listen to it, maybe tomorrow
Have you heard anything from these guys before? If not, put this aside and start with Dimension: Hatross.



Also I listened to the self-titled, Katorz and this back-to-back and had to change some ratings. The self-titled dropped to a 3 and I raised this to a 3.5 because it's good as Katorz and the self-titled isn't.

ThusSpokeZarathustra
June 16th 2009


293 Comments


The only albums that don't really have the "classic" Voivod sound are Angel Rat, the self-titled album and The Outer Limits. Even the albums with Eric Forrest sounded like they were based off of Rooaaarrrr and Killing Technology. But yeah, this is a throw back to the past, but with a solid Angel rat influence.


I remember listening to Katorz a couple times when it came out and thinking something was still missing. Is the overall feeling to this one more raw and perhaps a little more experimental??


Willie
Moderator
June 16th 2009


18057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember listening to Katorz a couple times when it came out and thinking something was still missing. Is the overall feeling to this one more raw and perhaps a little more experimental??
No not at all. It's basically the same as Katorz except possibly just a bit more Dimension thrown into the mix, but the rock of Angel Rat and The Outer Limits is still pretty prominent.



Edit: You have to remember that the guitarist died during the recording of Katorz so any riffs used on this album were written around the time of that album.

VicariousIntent
June 17th 2009


1627 Comments


I don't really dig Voivod, but I'm thinking of checking this out because I really liked your review. Like a lot.

jingledeath
June 17th 2009


7101 Comments


Have you heard anything from these guys before? If not, put this aside and start with
Dimension: Hatross.


Yeah, I was thinking about getting that or Nothingface since those 2 are the highest rated on the site

Wizard
June 17th 2009


20234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nothingface is awesome from start to finish. Still awaiting Dimension: Hatross in the mail : (.

Willie
Moderator
June 17th 2009


18057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't really dig Voivod, but I'm thinking of checking this out because I really liked your review. Like a lot.
Well thanks but unfortunately if you don't like Voivod I don't know if liking my review will help any but you should still give this a try.



@Jingledeath: For you I think you'd be better off with Dimension: Hatross first.



@Wizard: Still? You're missing out.

Wizard
June 17th 2009


20234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been on backorder for a while now dude : (. You don't have to rub it in.

Willie
Moderator
June 17th 2009


18057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you have it ordered why couldn't you DL it in the meantime?

Wizard
June 17th 2009


20234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You know that would be going against my values : 0. Plus the waiting game makes albums sound that much better for some strange reason.

Willie
Moderator
June 17th 2009


18057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dimension will sound awesome. I was just listening to it again today and wondering what made me rate it (and review it) as a 4.5 when it is easily a 5.

Wizard
June 17th 2009


20234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rewrite perhaps?



I will be picking this up next Tuesday. Canada sucks for release dates.

Willie
Moderator
June 17th 2009


18057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rewrite perhaps?



I will be picking this up next Tuesday. Canada sucks for release dates.
No re-writes. I'll leave it as it is and when

people hear it and discover it's actually a 5 they'll be surprised.



Next Tuesday is the same time this comes out in the USA too, I just got a promo from the record company that's why I had this

early.

Motiv3
June 17th 2009


9023 Comments


Lol everyone is doing DT reviews i have one too waiting to get posted out lawl, might check this out later.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy