Billy Talent Billy Talent II
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ReturnToRock
May 13th 2009


3474 Comments


how do you make a journal on sputnik?

also, what makes you a "contributing reviewer"? i think i used to be one, but no more...was it the absence? and exactly how does one make "staff"?

re Creative: i am a little heavy-handed, but the thing just fell apart, seriously. it's not like giving a five-year-old your camera. it's a case of the camera disintegrating from use.

re AC/DC: i plan to have the best night of my life. until some Sheila comes along and tops it but this should top the previous holder (Metallica concert, June '06, Sick of The Studio Tour, playing Fade To Black...i nearly cried)

MassiveAttack
May 13th 2009


2754 Comments


Journals haven't been implemented because the new code has just been used. It will be in sputnik again though so I hear. Also Contributor status is given by the staff who they feel contribute to the site in reviews, comments, suggestions, etc. Staff is being promoted from Contributor and is made by the Staff as one would suspect, it doesn't happen often and only recently a few had been promoted do the absence and retirement of others. You probably lost your contributor status because of your absence (probably a long time I'm assuming).

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 13th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"White Man, yeahhhhhhhhhhh". "Sympin ain't, sympin ain't, sympin ain't eaaaaaaaasy". Haha. Classic Stuff. If only Craig David got a gig also!



And I haven't seen the name Jody Watley for ages!



Pedro, see Marko's response for all your answers. Although, you wouldn't have lost your Contributor status due to inactivity. It was actually taken off everyone at one stage & the mods chose a handful to start fresh. They will intermittently call for applications in the News section of the website, so keep an eye out.

Fugue
May 13th 2009


7371 Comments


Davey I have a few questions regarding said contributor status actually. How long had you been a member when the powers above deemed you worthy and did you notice a popularity boost after you achieved said status?

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It depends which contributor run you mean Ross. I was initially given the status after I posted my 20th review (approx. 2 months for me). But I thought it was automatic to everyone who got to 20 as it felt like there were almost 100 contibutors at the time! I was informed later by Dave or Jom that it was not automatic, but it seemed that way.



As for the 2nd & current run as Contributor, it was whenever they refreshed, which was either late last year or early this year from memory. I joined in March of last year, so it was 9 months give or take.



As for a popularity boost, umm, tough to say. I'd say that any such boost was more from consistent reviewing, to be honest. There may be a casual reader here or there that sees the asterisk or word contributor next to my name and gives the review a read, but I doubt it would be a great deal.



As I have said a few times previously, I don't think a lot of the people around here realize the potential in this website. If it can gradually attract a few more casual music fans, I'm certain it would grow exponentially over time. That is, if they are not scared away by a handful of users!

Waior
May 14th 2009


11629 Comments


By God, are those handfuls of users scary though... interesting little summary there, Davey. I know that I didn't ask it, but it was still interesting to read.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How do you know that I wasn't talking about you Caleb!?!?!?



;-)

Waior
May 14th 2009


11629 Comments


Drat, I walked into that, didn't I? Haha.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah... It's your avatar. A new user writes a review, sees you yawning and then thinks they are boring. Depression & bi-polar follows and it's all your fault really. ;-)

Waior
May 14th 2009


11629 Comments


Haha! That must be it. I am a cold-blooded murderer.

Besides, it's their fault for being boring Sputnik users, otherwise, I wouldn't be yawning...

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Caleb, you are the definition of what Billy Talent sing about on 'Covered In Cowardice'; An internet bully (no matter how old Atavanhalen thinks you are). Haha. ;-)

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm, I have time for one more review before I head off on holiday. Whatever shall I do!?

Douglas
May 14th 2009


9291 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Something odd

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well Dougie, I've already reviewed Panic At The Disco's "Pretty. Odd."

Douglas
May 14th 2009


9291 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

And the bad puns continue, how about Tim Minchin? Amazing music, amazing comedy... or do they frown on music/comedy album on here?

Knott-
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


10230 Comments


something about airplanes

Douglas
May 14th 2009


9291 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Aeroplane Jelly

gaslightanthem
May 14th 2009


5208 Comments


there is a handful of users who scare ppl away

naw, no way

ReturnToRock
May 14th 2009


3474 Comments


hey Davey, I'll suggest your going-away review if you suggest my 100th. and then read it when you get back ;)

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 14th 2009


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be honest Dougie, I'm unsure on the comedy reviews. That may be a question to ask in the forums.



Jefferson Airplane maybe Adam. I was actually just listening to Scouting For Girls again today (by reco from Ross' 1 rating of their album) & they have a song called 'The Airplane Song'.



LOL Kane. I actually remember you were pretty good to me when I first started reviewing. Strange, but good. But now you have become one of the Sputnik mafia. What made you change man? Was it listening to Soulja Boy one too many times OR the loss of metal on your pie chart?



Hmmm, interesting suggestion Pedro, but I'm going to pass. I would have suggested something really silly like, I dunno, Paris Hilton. Haha.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy