As Cities Burn Hell Or High Water
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Waior
April 22nd 2009


11629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Capo and 84' Sheep Dog are my two favorites. I love the Robert Chilsom feature, considering they ripped off his band so hard on this album.



But I'm not complaining.

MusicinaBox
April 22nd 2009


732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol, i might be spitballing here, but '84 Sheepdog (which is an excellent song) is the name of Harry's mutt truck on Dumb and Dumber. ive watched that movies waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much lol. and i agree with Waior i though Capo was awesome.

Waior
April 22nd 2009


11629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I think roofi caught the Dumb and Dumber reference in a news article, but sharp eye.



Weird taste in movies, I'll give you that.

roofi
April 22nd 2009


959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"it's the shaggin' wagon! chicks love it!"



i love that movie too much, i'll admit it

MusicinaBox
April 22nd 2009


732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

same here. "swimmy, swammy, swummy, SWANSON!" lol.

Waior
April 22nd 2009


11629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I will not succumb to this madness.

tombits
April 22nd 2009


3547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't find the album as good as you did, but good review anyway.



I was under the assumption that a post-hardcore label would still cover this. Indie sounds right too, but I wouldn't go as far at alt-rock. Not really sure though.

MusicinaBox
April 22nd 2009


732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Come on Waior it's not madness, it's fuckin Dumb and Dumber.

You have to at least give 1 quote.......1. lol.

Waior
April 22nd 2009


11629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha. I can give one quote when I see it... which, of course, I won't! Haha. Deepest condolences.



Tombits: Yeah, I just really like it. It hardly is post-hardcore.

NovaSilver
April 22nd 2009


130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, the first of many I suspect. You caught the sheer oddness of ACB's progression pretty well and I like the detail (and the last line made me lol). Not sure about the 'cohesive' part of the album, to me Come Now Sleep was more of a coherent piece and a more consistent album. However this has some of the greater moments they've produced especially in 'Pirate Blues' which I'm starting to think might just be their best song.



Going to hold off rating it for now as it seems like a grower. This Message Edited On 04.22.09

gaslightanthem
April 22nd 2009


5208 Comments


This Message Edited On 04.22.09

Waior
April 22nd 2009


11629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pirate Blues is really awesome.



Thanks for the input.

IAmInsect
April 22nd 2009


3800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

made too pretty is best

Waior
April 22nd 2009


11629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whoever got the album artwork working, I love you forever.

Samwyze55
April 22nd 2009


83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

for the record - i read the whole review



also, i liked the album right away and it's STILL growing on me...just give it some time if it doesn't sit well at first. i'm surprised ppl on this site have the balls to rip off reviews the day an album comes out. usually takes me a couple months of listening before i fully grasp or understand an album.



you would think Gates would make the hard-copy and not the d/l version if anything....should have been the closing song....

This Message Edited On 04.22.09

Waior
April 22nd 2009


11629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I usually can get a firm grip on an album with 4 or 5 listens.



Besides, if I listen to an album for a long time before reviewing it, if I like it, I will often associate with things happening in my life at that time, and it makes me favor it more. Because it's tied to memories and a certain period of time.



Which is why I can never review Anberlin's Cities. Because half of my praise for it is nostalgia. It's a sin to review an album with an emotional bias.



This Message Edited On 04.22.09This Message Edited On 04.22.09

itchyandscratchy
April 22nd 2009


314 Comments


enlightening thank you

brandaao
April 22nd 2009


162 Comments


no doubt this is a 4

if not more!This Message Edited On 04.22.09

ScorpionStan
April 22nd 2009


1908 Comments


i really need to get this album. if this change of sound is as good as ACB's last one, i'm sold.

MusicinaBox
April 23rd 2009


732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

eh its definetely not as drastic as it was from SILYAYD to Come Now Sleep. but it is a decent change, and in the end not a step forward or back just neutral. really good CD all together.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy