Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kman418
April 16th 2014


13271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my appreciation/most peoples appreciation for this has nothing to do with that. im sure theres a few tools out there that saw pitchfork gave it a good rating and pretend to like it to seem cool but i can guarantee you 90% of the fans of this just heard it and thought "yeah this is good". i dont give a shit what mu thinks of it. i dont give a shit what pitchfork thinks of it. i dont give a shit what you or a thousand other people think of it. literally every single other person on the planet could hate this, and if i heard it i'd most likely still listen to it cause i enjoy the music. how is this so hard to grasp.



literally the only reason i like/listen to this is because when i hear the music i enjoy it. thats it. thats probably the case for most people that like it. if you seriously think that because in your subjective opinion its the worst thing to ever touch the planet that its literally impossible for anyone else to like it without being fake about it in some way i want you to take a step back and consider what youre saying

Wadlez
April 16th 2014


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Back when it came out I had never heard of AC. Simply saw it getting buzz on this site, checked it out and thought hey this sounds good.

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2014


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't even know what I'm arguing because you're all pretty much right. I just don't think that it's correct to say hipsters don't exist, because there are people out there who will try and buy a sense of independence and buy into a certain style of obscurity. Of course, there are people who genuinely enjoy vinyl/cassette, growing beards and skinny jeans who end up tainted by the people who are just in it because of the image.



With the 'inauthentic' thing I was referring to Baudrillard and simulacra and the sense that what we all enjoy is just simulations of what others enjoy

Digging: King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard - Polygondwanaland

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2014


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and I don't think that about animal collective, I think their is a case to be made though that some people will fein interest in this to gain credibility because of how difficult it is

Kman418
April 16th 2014


13271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah thats acceptable

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2014


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

im sure theres a few tools out there that saw pitchfork gave it a good rating and pretend to like it




it is these people who are hipsters, who become the majority voice who dictate the praise of this album. I'm not claiming you're wrong or you don't genuinely like this but there's a case to be made that this album has gained an inordinate amount of fans who like it for the identity it holds

SnakeDelilah
April 16th 2014


19937 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still need to jam these guys

Digging: Florist (NY) - If Blue Could Be Happiness

Polyethylene
April 16th 2014


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah again, this could have one rating or a million and I'd still love it





don't let context ruin an album for you

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2014


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It kind of did for this. This isn't my type of thing to begin with and when I heard all the raving I was really surprised at how not amazing I found this. The same goes for neutral milk hotel, the only other album I've ever found to be hype killed

Sleaper
April 16th 2014


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

arcade...just stop lol



you come to a thread within a genre that obviously isn't your cup of tea and call us inauthentic?



i don't go round the grunge or metalcore threads screaming the fans are unoriginal.



Not that i give a half fuck about what you're saying, im more so worried your reputation on this site will be inevitably ruined 4 LYYYYYYYF!

aircycle
April 16th 2014


1103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can we all just agree that avey > panda?

Polyethylene
April 16th 2014


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck no



Avey's had two middling solo albums, Panda's had several amazing ones



Avey's vocals sting more emotionally (especially on Strawberry Jam) but Panda's are much more consistently thrilling, dem vowels yo

NorthernSkylark
April 16th 2014


8669 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dig this. But I find it impossible to rate... It's all over the place, just like the cover!

I feel like it's a 4, though I could be wrong. It won't be long (yeah).

Digging: Gang of Youths - Go Farther in Lightness

Polyethylene
April 16th 2014


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think it's got such a consistent vibe (maybe in its production style?), it makes it really coherent for me. Even if the individual elements of the songs are all flying around

Sleaper
April 17th 2014


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey! down there was great, but it aint no person pitch.



his new one..blergh never thought i could get motion sickness without physically moving an inch.

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2014


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

arcade...just stop lol



you come to a thread within a genre that obviously isn't your cup of tea and call us inauthentic?



i don't go round the grunge or metalcore threads screaming the fans are unoriginal.



Not that i give a half fuck about what you're saying, im more so worried your reputation on this site will be inevitably ruined 4 LYYYYYYYF!




I don't really understand what it is your insinuating. I was having my 2 cents about this and others interjected in what is referred to as an adult argument between people. I don't understand much about your grunge or metalcore comments either. And I didn't say you were inauthentic, I claimed that hipsters- a lot of who coincidentally buy into this record- are inauthentic and this album becomes tainted as a result. I have nothing against you, this album or others but the way you're approaching the situation seems a bit immature tbh.

avonbarksdale221
June 2nd 2014


8298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so I think this is finally growing on me

Sleaper
June 2nd 2014


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

welcome to the world of anco.

next stop, person pitch.



pretty much the one band that really changed my life

avonbarksdale221
June 2nd 2014


8298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ive listened to person pitch once but kinda just forgot about it, will definitely re-jam

the textures and vocal harmonies on this are amazing

guys eyes wow

Phlegm
June 2nd 2014


7241 Comments


person pitch is love



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy