Lostprophets Start Something
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Otisbum
November 21st 2006


1913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@STtP: Most of the other songs are just as good as Last Train Home, but it does dull past the first 5 songs (with the exception of 'Start Something'), in my opinion of course.

CushMG15
March 15th 2007


1810 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel like this cd is more consistent that TFSOP. However, the songs that really stood out on TFSOP (Shinobi, Title Track, A Thousand Apologies, and Five is A Four Letter word) were better than anything that this album has to offer. All things considered, I like them both about the same, but I listen to this one more regularly. I couldn't be bothered with their latest effort.

Otisbum
March 15th 2007


1913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@STtP: If you like a more Mainstream sound, get Liberation Transmission.



I haven't heard The Fake Sound of Progress, so I can't really tell you about that.



Just check Purevolume or YouTube and listen to a couple songs off of some of their albums, and choose that way.



EDIT: But in my opinion, their newest is the best out of their last 2 CDs.This Message Edited On 03.15.07

mytherlie
November 14th 2007


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im currently addicted to this album. strangly the same way i was addicted to TFSoP.is liberation transmission any good in comparison to these 2?

Damrod
Moderator
November 16th 2007


1093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No. Not at all.

botb
November 16th 2007


12483 Comments


I really really like this album. I don't like their new one nearly as much as it's a little too poppy for my taste but this has some solid stuff on it. FSOP is a good record too.

Spamue1G
September 7th 2008


1291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The title track is good. Apart from that it often sounds dull and poppy. The transitions from the hit-and-miss metal parts to the pop parts are dull on this album, whereas on TFSOP they were transitions from catchy, heavy parts to gentle, melodic parts as opposed to average pop. Then Liberation Transmission failed miserably. Oh well.

danrawkz
October 29th 2008


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the title track is the worst, most obvious filler song on the album imo. the only good part is the piano interlude at the end.



try playing this album with your subwoofer turned up, it's crazy how much of a difference it makes to some of the songs with the low bass presence

fireaboveicebelow
October 29th 2008


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the title track is fine, make a move and burn burn is the filler

ninjuice
October 29th 2008


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're both wrong if you ask me.

Start Something kicks the album up a notch after the softer midsection, and Make a Move + Burn Burn more or less round out the better first half of the album.This Message Edited On 10.29.08

Curse.
October 29th 2008


8057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ninjuice is right, Start Something, Make a Move, and Burn Burn are top notch songs on the cd.

Spamue1G
December 30th 2008


1291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has grown on me no end now... Sure, it can get overly poppy sometimes, but most of it is really well done, and I'm actually starting to like this more than The Fake Sound Of Progress. The title track, to hell we ride and we still kill the old way are my current favourites.

fireaboveicebelow
December 30th 2008


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've always preferred the latter half of the cd, Goodbye Tonight, Last Summer, and Sway are mmmmm yes

upagainstthewall
February 26th 2009


839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

to hell we ride is a great song

ninjuice
February 26th 2009


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The whole thing is awesome. This band needs to make another album like this.

upagainstthewall
February 26th 2009


839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yes liberation transmission was a major let down

Kashmir09
September 22nd 2009


772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Used to love this album and band, but their atrocity that was Liberation Transmission made me second guess everything else by them. Pretty good tracks on here, but I'll overall pass

axeman_matt
January 14th 2010


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been listening to this and thefakesoundofprogress in anticipation of seeing them in march

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2010


22485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^^^ Ditto.

DiceMan
January 14th 2010


7067 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This was one of the first albums I ever bought.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy